Skip to main content

Forum staff wins 14 awards in Arkansas college media contest

Nine student journalists at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock won 14 awards in the 91st annual Arkansas College Media Association awards, announced April 4, for their work in The Forum, UA Little Rock’s student newspaper. 

“I’m incredibly proud of the staff,” said Sonny Rhodes, faculty adviser of The Forum. “If you look at the variety of categories in which they won awards, ranging from spot news photo to election/political coverage, you will get an idea of the talent they have. I’m very happy for them and grateful for the hard work they put in.”

The Arkansas College Media Association is composed of private and public colleges and universities throughout the state, including Arkansas State University, Arkansas Tech University, Central Baptist College, Harding University, Henderson State University, Ouachita Baptist University, and the University of Central Arkansas.

The Forum competed in the ACMA’s newspaper and online divisions. The student winners, places of finish, and categories include:

  • Alex Ball, third place, online personality profile.
  • Miriam Battles, first place, online sports photo; third place, newspaper sports photo.
  • Ashish Bhakta and Ivan Henley, second place, newspaper cartoon strip or single panel entertainment cartoon.
  • Oksana Durkee, second place, online meeting/speech coverage; third place, online news writing; honorable mention, newspaper personality profile.
  • Chloe McGehee, first place, online election/political coverage.
  • Kenneth Reed, first place, online art/illustration.
  • Kolton Rutherford, first place, online spot news photo; second place, online feature writing; second place, newspaper spot news photo.
  • Jordan Woodson, first place, online personality profile; third place, newspaper headlines.

For further information, please contact Forum Executive Editor Jordan Woodson at