UA Little Rock Human Resource Society Honored with Merit Award

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), the world’s largest human resources association, awarded a 2020-21 Superior Merit designation for UA Little Rock’s Human Resource Society for providing superior growth and development opportunities for its student members.

“Even during the pandemic, the students continued their work with the Human Resource Society, sponsored by the Department of Management, Marketing, and Technology,” said Dr. Karen Leonard, professor of management and faculty advisor. “Because of their dedication, we were able to achieve the award. One of the projects was collecting business attire for UA Little Rock’s Career Closet. Due to massive donations by Professor John Hendon, in particular, we could achieve our goals for the drive.”

The SHRM Student Chapter Merit Award program encourages the development of more effective student chapters and distinguishes outstanding activities and projects. Chapters are recognized based on operations, chapter programming and professional development of members, support of the human resource profession, and SHRM engagement.

“The members of our SHRM student chapters represent the next generation of HR leaders, and it’s critical to highlight the instrumental role they play in SHRM’s success,” said Johnny Taylor Jr., SHRM president and CEO. “The hard work of the UA Little Rock chapter shows the future of the profession is, indeed, in good hands. I applaud their accomplishments and ability to foster innovative programming, development and interest in HR as we navigate changing workplaces.”

Members of the UA Little Rock Human Resource Society include Brandy Batts, Shuntele Carroll, Dean Gonzales, William Gould, Jessica Johnson, Yadira Lara Dugan, Jerry Mayo, LaJetta McMahan, Valerie Plate, Pynshailang Nongsiej, JaVonnica Smith, Jordan Snellgrove, and Kenya Woods.

SHRM student chapters have the opportunity to earn an award based on the number of activities they complete during the merit award cycle, which ran from May 1, 2020, to April 30, 2021.

Share this Post: