Skip to main content

UA Little Rock Community Invited to Meet Racial Barriers Committee on Oct. 14

The Racial Barriers Committee will hold a meeting on Oct. 14.
The Racial Barriers Committee will hold a meeting on Oct. 14.

The members of the new Racial Barriers Committee will host a hybrid meeting with the UA Little Rock community on Thursday, Oct. 14.

The meeting will take place at 6 p.m. in Dickinson Hall Room 100 and online via this link. The in-person meeting is open to the first 60 people who register at this link.

Chancellor Christina Drale will speak about the founding of the Racial Barriers Committee, and Dr. Richard Harper, dean of students and the committee’s advisor, will introduce the committee.

The Racial Barriers Committee members will discuss their charge and mission, followed by a question-and-answer session and reception.

The Racial Barriers Committee was formed in 2020. Committee members will review campus policies, processes, and practices for elements that may be unintended barriers to access and opportunity for people of color at UA Little Rock. They will report their findings to Chancellor Drale and will collaborate with parties to reconcile racial barriers.

Christine Jones, Dr. Mark Baillie, and Dr. Jennifer Hune will serve as co-chairs of the Racial Barriers Committee. The committee members include Lindsey Baertlein, Hyginus Ukadike, Clara Cardriche, Erin Flowers, Karen Kuralt, and Lakendra Mackey.