UA Little Rock explicitly condemns sexual assault as a violation of an individual’s human rights and dignity. Therefore, it is the policy of UA Little Rock that members of the university community neither commit nor condone sexual assault in any form.
This prohibition applies equally to male and female staff, faculty, and students. Prohibition also applies to all other persons on premises subject to university control, and to those engaged to further the interests of the university.
Learn more about:
- What to Do if You Believe You’ve Been Sexually Assaulted
- What is Sexual Assault
- Reporting the Assault
- Disciplinary Sanctions
- Your Rights as a Sexual Assault Victim
- On-Going Support
Sexual assault is unlawful and may subject those who engage in it to civil and criminal penalties. Employees and students who engage in sexual assault also will be subject to applicable disciplinary action.
The university is committed to providing an environment free from sexual assault. Therefore, the university administration strongly encourages all UA Little Rock community members to report incidents of sexual assault. To that end, reporting and investigation procedures are supportive of and sensitive to the victim. At the same time, they adequately safeguard the rights of the alleged offender.
What To Do If You Believe You Have Been Sexually Assaulted
- Get immediate help; report the assault.
- Pick up blue light emergency phones, DPS will answer automatically.
- Dial 501-916-3400 or 911
These offices can help you get medical aid and provide other necessary support:
Dean of Students | 501-916-3328
Health Services/Donaghey Student Center, Suite 102 | 501-916-3188
Office of Campus Life/Donaghey Student Center, Suite 216 | 501-916-3308
Counseling Services, Student Services Center, Suite 118 | 501-916-3185
Rape Crisis Hotline | 501-801-2700
Sexual Assault Center (24 hour hotline) | 501-801-2700
Prosecutor’s Victim Assistance Program | 501-340-8000
Arkansas Victim Notification Program (VINE) | 1-800-510-0415
What is Sexual Assault?
Sexual assault is generally defined as attempted or actual unwanted sexual activity (Sandler, 1993). Sexual assaults generally fall into one of two categories: forcible and nonforcible sex offenses.
- A forcible sex offense is “any sexual act directed against another person forcibly and/or against that person’s will, or not forcibly or against a person’s will where the victim is incapable of giving consent.” These sex offenses include forcible rape, forcible sodomy, sexual assault with an object, and forcible fondling.
- Non-forcible sex offenses are acts of “unlawful, non-forcible sexual intercourse,” and include incest and statutory rape. Depending on the circumstances, acquaintance rape could be in either category.
- As used in this policy, the term “sexual assault” is generally descriptive of conduct specifically proscribed as rape, carnal abuse, sexual misconduct, and sexual abuse, under the Arkansas Code.
Reporting the Assault
Addressing immediate physical and emotional trauma is of paramount importance. Due to the nature and value of evidence, it is important that any sexual assault be reported as soon as possible.
A complaint should be filed with the university within 30 days of the incident.
A victim of sexual assault has several options in reporting the incident. The initial complaint may be filed with any of these university offices:
- Department of Public Safety (DPS): DPS will conduct an investigation of the complaint. Upon completion of the investigation, if the complainant chooses to file criminal charges, this department will assist in reporting the sexual assault to the prosecutor.
- Dean of Students: The complaint will be reviewed by the Dean of Students or designee and will be investigated for internal judiciary proceedings.
- Department of Human Resources: The complaint will be reviewed by this office and also will be investigated for internal judiciary proceedings. Victims may choose to use any or all of the above options.
Sexual Assault/Forcible and Nonforcible Sex Offenses:
- The university will not tolerate sexual assault in any form. A student or employee charged with sexual assault can be prosecuted under Arkansas criminal statutes and/or disciplined by the university.
- Even if criminal prosecution is not pursued, the university can pursue disciplinary action. Where there is cause to believe that the campus regulations prohibiting sexual assault have been violated, the campus will pursue strong disciplinary action through its own internal judicial channels.
- This discipline includes, but is not limited to, termination, expulsion, suspension, disciplinary probation, counseling, mediation or educational sanctions, or a combination. Any conduct constituting a sexual offense under Arkansas law also shall be subject to disciplinary sanctions under this policy.
Your Rights as a Sexual Assault Victim
As a victim, you have the right to file criminal charges with local law enforcement authorities and, upon request, are entitled to assistance from the university in notifying the local law enforcement authorities.
- The Office of the Dean of Students and/or Department of Human Resources will explain how to use the university’s internal complaint process. You have the right to file a complaint with the university, to have your sexual assault complaint investigated by the university, and to participate in any disciplinary proceedings regarding the sexual assault complaint. If you wish, you may have two nonparticipating support persons present with you at such proceedings.
- The person accused also may have a representative/attorney present at such proceedings.
- The university will notify you as to the outcome of any disciplinary proceeding regarding your complaint, subject to the limitations of state and federal laws relating to data privacy practices. The person accused also will be notified of the outcome of such proceedings.
- The university will cooperate with law enforcement authorities in obtaining, securing, and maintaining evidence in connection with the sexual assault incident. The university also will assist you in preserving any materials relevant to the campus disciplinary proceedings.
- The university will, in cooperation with law enforcement authorities, make efforts to shield you from unwanted contact with the alleged assailant, including the transfer of the victim to alternative classes or alternative university-owned housing, if these options are available and feasible.
Because of the traumatic nature of sexual assault, victims are strongly encouraged to seek professional help.
- Free and confidential counseling and referrals are available on campus at Counseling Services, located in the Student Services Center, Suite 118.
- If you would like to receive more information about your options for pressing charges, reporting an incident, filing internal complaints, or counseling, please contact the university staff members whose departments and phone numbers are listed in this policy.
- There are also support resources outside the UA Little Rock community. Counseling Services maintains a list of local therapists, including clinical psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists in private practice. Students and employees may have private insurance benefits that cover all or part of the cost of such counseling. Also, there are clinics in the community that operate on a sliding scale or have delayed payment plans.