How to Merge Courses in Blackboard

Merging courses allows instructors to manage multiple sections from one shell.  When merging sections the instructor will identify one of the sections to be the primary or ‘parent’ course and all enrollments from the sections known as ‘child’ courses will be merged into the parent.

To merge a course:

Step 1: Access the course you wish to act as the ‘parent’ course. This is the course that contains content and will be the main section the course is managed from.

Step 2: Go to the Course Management Control Panel and expand the Course Tools menu.  Select Course Merge from the drop-down.

Step 3: Select the link to manage merged sections.

Step 4: Place a check mark next to the sections you wish to merge into the parent course. Press Next.

Step 5: Confirm the selected child courses.  Press Update Children.

 


 

To un-merge a course:

Step 1: Return to the parent course and the Course Merge tool.

Step 2: Select the link to manage merged sections.

Step 3: Uncheck the box next to the course you wish to remove from the parent course.  Press Next.

Step 4: Review the courses to un-merge.  Press Next.

Step 5: Confirm the process by selecting Update Children.  Note: This will make enrollments from child courses unavailable in the parent course.

Posted in: Blackboard News, Featured

Comments are closed.