Phi Sigma Tau

Phi Sigma Tau

Phi Sigma Tau is the International Honor Society in Philosophy and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

The UALR Arkansas Beta Chapter’s Mission is Five-Fold:
  1. to recognize and award distinction to students who display great interest and achieve scholarship in philosophy
  2. to promote student interest in research and advanced study in philosophy
  3. to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit
  4. to encourage and facilitate the professional spirit and friendship between exceptional students of philosophy
  5. to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public

Oracle Awards
Contact Information


General Membership Requirements

Undergraduate students at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock are eligible for active membership in Phi Sigma Tau if they meet the following criteria:

  1. Completion of a minimum of 24 hours of college coursework
  2. Completion of two 3-hour courses in philosophy with an average GPA greater than 3.0 in those courses
  3. Overall GPA greater than 3.0

Students wishing to be members of Phi Sigma Tau must fill out a directory card and pay a one-time initiation fee (currently $25) to the national office.  Submit your directory card and check to the Faculty Advisor, Dr. Michael Norton.

Phi Sigma Tau, Arkansas Beta Chapter

2017 Inductees

Erin Beeman
Mackenzie Bolt
Nathan Davis
Ra’phael Davis
Audrey Driskill
Harold Moses
Shelby Riley
Sheila Speer
Lauren Wood

2016 Inductees

Blake Bingham
Michelle Burton
Reagan Martin
Shelby Shelton
Corey Spangler

2015 Inductees

George Andrews
Roland Brim
Will Kimball
Sarah Lassiter
Jason Maxwell
Trystan Pulk
Michael Wyatt

2014 Inductees

Justin Bray
Spencer Briggs
Marla Cole
Teresa Dukes-Scott
Joshua Harper
Corisa Rakestraw
Jessica Simpson
Samantha Wilson

2013 Inductees

Desireé Bailey
Mark Beyer
Kate Blackwell
Daysha Carr
Alexandra Gonzales
Casey Hook
Karldy Isidor
Angela Johnson
Corey Key
Bianca Mayo
Ashley Moore
Garrett Morgan
Andrew Rinchuso
Jerry Wilkerson
Keary Woodard

2012 Inductees

Marshall Akins
Jessica Ashun
Georgette Huyler
Ivan Martinez
Dequeshia Prude
Sara Stevens
William Wisdom

Oracle Awards

Excellent work gets rewarded around here!

The Oracle Awards recognize exceptional philosophical papers written for your philosophy courses.
Winners will be announced at the annual Phi Sigma Tau Induction Ceremony in April.

We are currently accepting submissions for the 2017 Oracle Awards! The submission deadline is April 3. See the Call for Papers for more information on submitting.

The Oracle Apex Award
(2017 winner: Shalondra Martin)

The highest honor, which may be awarded to any student who has taken any course in which she wrote a truly exceptional philosophy paper, a paper considered to have excellent potential to be turned into a conference paper or publication.

The Oracle Award for Exceptional Philosophical Argumentation
(2017 winner: Ra’phael Davis)

Any student taking any course is eligible for this award, which rewards exceptional philosophy writing.

The Oracle Upstart Award
(2017 winner: Harold Moses)

Awarded to a student taking a lower-level class who has produced the most exceptional paper, with preference given to freshmen and sophomore students.

The Clarence Guy Award
(2017 winner: Quin Wilkes)

Awarded to the best paper in an introductory course.



Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Norton (