Phi Sigma Tau

Phi Sigma Tau is the International Honor Society in Philosophy and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. The Arkansas Beta Chapter’s Mission at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock is Five-Fold:

  1. to recognize and award distinction to students who display great interest and achieve scholarship in philosophy
  2. to promote student interest in research and advanced study in philosophy
  3. to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit
  4. to encourage and facilitate the professional spirit and friendship between exceptional students of philosophy
  5. to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public


General Membership Requirements

Undergraduate students at UA Little Rock are eligible for active membership in Phi Sigma Tau if they meet the following criteria:

  1. Completion of a minimum of 24 hours of college coursework
  2. Completion of two 3-hour courses in philosophy with an average GPA greater than 3.0 in those courses
  3. Overall GPA greater than 3.0

Students wishing to be members of Phi Sigma Tau must fill out a directory card and pay a one-time initiation fee (currently $25) to the national office.  Submit your directory card and check to the Faculty Advisor, Dr. Michael Norton.

Phi Sigma Tau, Arkansas Beta Chapter

2023 Inductees

Shellae Scruggs
Justin Washington
Timothy Webb

2022 Inductees

Evan Fisher
Carla McDuffie

2021 Inductees

Savannah Dees
Angie Hoaglin
Oussama Makhoul
Shalonda Michelle
Madison Sanders

(no new members in 2020, due to COVID-19)

2019 Inductees

Kaylin Edge
Amy Jilek
Roxanna Walker

2018 Inductees

Sydney Brazil
Angel McVay
Kevin Pollack
Kat Roberts
Taylor Travis
Melissa Vachon
Emma Williams

2017 Inductees

Erin Beeman
Mackenzie Bolt
Nathan Davis
Ra’phael Davis
Audrey Driskill
Harold Moses
Shelby Riley
Sheila Speer
Lauren Wood

2016 Inductees

Blake Bingham
Michelle Burton
Reagan Martin
Shelby Shelton
Corey Spangler

2015 Inductees

George Andrews
Roland Brim
Will Kimball
Sarah Lassiter
Jason Maxwell
Trystan Pulk
Michael Wyatt

2014 Inductees

Justin Bray
Spencer Briggs
Marla Cole
Teresa Dukes-Scott
Joshua Harper
Corisa Rakestraw
Jessica Simpson
Samantha Wilson

2013 Inductees

Desireé Bailey
Mark Beyer
Kate Blackwell
Daysha Carr
Alexandra Gonzales
Casey Hook
Karldy Isidor
Angela Johnson
Corey Key
Bianca Mayo
Ashley Moore
Garrett Morgan
Andrew Rinchuso
Jerry Wilkerson
Keary Woodard

2012 Inductees

Marshall Akins
Jessica Ashun
Georgette Huyler
Ivan Martinez
Dequeshia Prude
Sara Stevens
William Wisdom

Ceremony & Reception

Each Spring, the Arkansas Beta Chapter of Phi Sigma Tau welcomes its new members at an induction ceremony and reception with a special invited speaker. Winners of awards given by the Philosophy Department and by Phi Sigma Tau are also recognized at this event.

Past speakers at the annual Phi Sigma Tau reception:

  • 2019: Andrew Eshleman (University of Portland)
  • 2018: Adriel Trott (Wabash College)
  • 2017: Colleen Murphy (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • 2016: Sarah Clark Miller (Pennsylvania State University)
  • 2015: Tom Digby (Springfield College)
  • 2014: Eduardo Mendieta (Stony Brook University)
  • 2013: Sybol Cook Anderson (St. Mary’s College of Maryland)
  • 2012: Bill Lawson (University of Memphis)

Oracle Awards

The Oracle Awards recognize exceptional philosophical papers written for your philosophy courses. The submission period for 2020 Oracle Awards is now closed.

The Oracle Apex Award
(2020 winner: Katie Zakrzewski)

Awarded to any student who has taken any course in which she wrote a truly exceptional philosophy paper, a paper considered to have excellent potential to be turned into a conference paper or publication.

The Clarence Guy Award
(2020 winner: Trinity Caver)

Awarded to the best paper in an introductory course.


Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Norton