Jenkins inducted into University of Kentucky College of Law Hall of Fame

Professor Sarah Howard Jenkins, the Charles C. Baum Distinguished Professor of Law at UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, is a 2017 inductee into the University of Kentucky College of Law Hall of Fame.

The University of Kentucky Law Alumni Association Hall of Fame was established to acknowledge graduates and former faculty of the College whose extraordinary professional success and contributions, profound positive influence on the College of Law, and high degree of character and integrity are recognized by their peers. Inclusion in the Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by the College of Law.

As an academic-legal professional, Professor Jenkins devotes her time and energy to challenging her students to develop a commitment to diligence and competence in the study and practice of the law. She is dedicated to ensuring parity among the diverse interests in commercial law through her scholarship and participation in social justice and public service initiatives. Professor Jenkins has also been instrumental in Bowen’s involvement in the University of Silesia’s School of U.S. Law, a partnership with several U.S. law schools at the law school at the University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland.

Professor Jenkins is a member of the prestigious American Law Institute and she served as chair of the ABA UCC Subcommittee on Article 1, during the revision of UCC Article 1, and the Subcommittee on Payment Systems, 2007 through 2010. Twice, she has served as chair of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Commercial and Related Consumer Law, most recently in 2012-2013. She has published extensively on Commercial Law issues, notably volume 13 of the Revised Corbin on Contracts, one of the leading and most highly regarded summaries of contract law in print. She has also organized several symposia of distinguished domestic scholars on significant legal issues.

Professor Jenkins was the recipient of UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law Faculty Excellence Award for Research, 2003 & 2011; the Delta Theta Phi Legal Fraternity, UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, Professor of the Year Award, 2000; the University of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Student Bar Association Professor of the Year Award 1989-90; and nominated by individual students in 1993, 2003, 2005, and 2011 for UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching.

In reflecting on her induction, Professor Jenkins stated, “I am eternally grateful to God for my parents, Vivian & the late Honorable George Howard, Jr., two young black kids from the deep-south who believed God and His promises, who stressed education as an essential ingredient for success and prosperity, who embraced the Constitution of these United States, and who insisted on the application of the Rule of Law for ethnic minorities. This honor belongs to them.”

Posted in: Faculty Committees and Service, Faculty Scholarship & Service, News, Professor Jenkins' Scholarship & Service

Comments are closed.