Skip to main content

Little Rock Public Radio holds Fall Fund Drive Sept. 11-15

Little Rock Public Radio volunteers man the phones during an annual public fund drive. Photo by Ben Krain.
Little Rock Public Radio volunteers man the phones during an annual public fund drive. Photo by Ben Krain.

Little Rock Public Radio, home of KUAR FM 89.1 and KLRE Classical 90.5, will hold its annual Fall Fund Drive celebrating its 50th anniversary Sept. 11-15.

Little Rock Public Radio has a goal of raising $80,000 and welcoming 100 new members during its Fall Fund Drive. Proceeds will go to support bringing news, culture, and powerful radio to central Arkansas.

“As we celebrate the remarkable 50-year journey of public radio in central Arkansas, we couldn’t be more proud of the legacy we’ve built together – delivering exceptional, informative, and captivating programming to our dedicated listeners,” General Manager Jonathan Seaborn said. “At Little Rock Public Radio, your backing has always been the cornerstone of our success. As a listener-funded station, we rely on your generosity to keep the airwaves alive with the content you’ve come to know and love.”

This year’s drive includes an innovative new partnership with the Arkansas Foodbank. Any contribution made in support of Little Rock Public Radio will allow them to provide meals to those in need through Arkansas Foodbank. Summit Utilities will match donations up to $20,000 for the Arkansas Foodbank.

The week will feature a special lineup of on-air hosts during “Morning Edition” from 6:30-9 a.m., and donors will have access to new Little Rock Public Radio merchandise. Seaborn and Brian Burton, CEO of Arkansas Foodbank, will kick off the fall fund drive on air on Monday, Sept. 11.

Tuesday, Sept. 12, brings the magic of Mary Cantrell, the previous host of “Arkansas Cooks,” and the charismatic Neal Moore. Some donors will receive tickets to the Arkansas Times Margarita Fest.

Jay Barth and Chuck Cliett will host the Wednesday, Sept. 13, morning show. Stephanie Jackson and Sandra McGrew will host the Thursday, Sept. 14, show where some donors will receive VIP tickets for the Arkansas Tiny Desk Contest 2023.

Dr. Sarah Beth Estes, dean of the UA Little Rock College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, and Skip Rutherford, retired dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service, will close out the drive on Friday, Sept. 15. Donors will have a chance to access tickets for the Big Steam Music Festival and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival.

Donors who make a one-year membership gift of $10 per month or $120 per the year will receive a Little Rock Public Radio t-shirt. You can make a donation by visiting this webpage.