Skip to main content

UA Little Rock Announces Leadership Changes in the Provost’s Office

Erin Finzer and Melvin Beavers
Dr. Erin Finzer and Dr. Melvin Beavers

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced leadership changes in the provost’s office.

Dr. Erin Finzer, Associate Vice Chancellor for Continuous Improvement, will be leaving the university to pursue other opportunities. Dr. Melvin Beavers, currently the Chancellor’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Fellow, will serve as the Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Continuous Improvement beginning March 4.

“Dr. Finzer’s contributions to our work on accreditation and assessment have been valuable to our university,” stated Dr. Ann Bain, provost and executive vice chancellor. “We are appreciative of her efforts and wish her success in her future pursuits.”

Dr. Beavers assumes the role of overseeing continuous improvement, bringing a wealth of experience that spans across key areas of university life. His comprehensive insight into the university’s operations stems from his tenure on the Chancellor’s cabinet, his direct work with students in the classroom, and his leadership as the director of first-year writing.

“I would like to thank Dr. Beavers for his willingness to serve in the interim capacity,” said Provost Bain. “His comprehensive understanding of our institution and his ability to collaborate with partners across campus make him an ideal fit for this role.”

As associate vice chancellor, Beavers will oversee all curricular processes in the Academic Affairs division including assessment, academic program reviews, and accreditation.

Dr. Beavers will continue to oversee diversity initiatives for the remainder of this fiscal year. It is anticipated that the Chancellor will select a new DEI Fellow next fall.

Beavers earned a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Central Arkansas as well as a master’s degree in interdisciplinary studies and a Doctor of Education in Higher Education Administration from UA Little Rock.

Beavers joined UA Little Rock in 2015 as an instructor and also served as the director of first-year writing at UA Little Rock before becoming the inaugural Chancellor’s DEI fellow.