Bowen recognizes three faculty members for excellence

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law has recognized three faculty members for excellence in research and creative endeavors, teaching, and public service. This recognition is part of the university’s annual faculty excellence awards.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Lindsey Gustafson has been recognized for excellence in public service. Gustafson has recently completed two terms as the editor of The Journal of the Legal Writing Institute, a highly regarded, peer-edited journal. She also now serves as a co-director of the Institute of Law Teaching and Learning, of which the law school is a co-sponsor.

In 2021, Gustafson was the co-organizer of the symposia for the Legal Writing Institute and the Institute for Law Teaching and Learning. She is the current president of the Pulaski County Special School District Board of Education. In the past, she has served on several school district advisory boards and committees. Her nominators describe Gustafson as someone “who unselfishly uses her knowledge and abilities to serve and better her community.”

Gustafson has been recognized for excellence in teaching three times. This is her first recognition for excellence in public service. “I’m surrounded by faculty members, staff, and students who serve in such amazing, varied ways,” she said. “My legal education has been a gift in my life, and I’m grateful for the chance to use it to serve where I can.”

Photo of Prof. Josh SilversteinProfessor Joshua Silverstein has been recognized for excellence in teaching. A former student, in her nomination letter, calls him “the best teacher I have ever had.” She cites his enthusiasm, organization, knowledge, and compassion. Those traits are repeated in former students’ letters of endorsement. They discuss Silverstein’s passion for teaching, his engaging presentation of complex topics, and his commitment to ensuring they fully comprehend the material. This includes his extensive use of visual aids.

In 2021, Silverstein was chosen by Bowen students as the first law school recipient of the We HEART Faculty Award. This is the second time he has been recognized for excellence in teaching.

“Teaching is the heart of a professor’s job,” Silverstein said. “As a result, I am deeply honored to receive the award for teaching excellence.”

Photo of Professor Robert SteinbuchProfessor Robert Steinbuch has been recognized for excellence in research and creative endeavors. He is the sole author of a treatise entitled The Arkansas Freedom of Information Act (7th ed. 2022), a major revision of the 6th edition, which he co-authored. In addition, between 2016 and 2020, he published four scholarly articles in law reviews. He has four additional articles forthcoming, including an article in the Journal of Legal Education and the law review of top-tiered Pepperdine Law School.

In addition to transparency law, Steinbuch’s scholarship focuses on matters such as evidence law, federal securities law, immigration law, and legal education. He is also a frequent contributor and provides media interviews related to national, state, and local legal matters.  “Professor Steinbuch’s works have been cited by other academics, courts, and practitioners,” said his nominator. “His efforts have contributed to the expansion of knowledge in the law, as well as encouraged additional research.”

Steinbuch said, “I’m deeply honored to receive this recognition. The law can be used to help people or misused to oppress them. Reflecting this basic maxim, my research builds on the core tenet that wrongdoings by public officials need to be both exposed and justly excised. My work employs transparency tools essential to an effective and accountable democracy to achieve these goals. It’s a long haul, but I believe we’re making progress.”

UA Little Rock annually celebrates the achievements of the top professors of the year who are making a difference in the community through their contributions in teaching, research and creative works, and public service. This is the highest honor UA Little Rock awards its faculty members.

Created in 1989, the faculty excellence awards provide recognition of the great work done by UA Little Rock faculty. The awards are made possible through contributions by the Office of the Chancellor, the Office of the Provost, the UA Little Rock Chancellor’s Circle, the Bailey Foundation, and UMR.

The UA Little Rock Board of Visitors will select the university-wide winners from the faculty members who are selected as the top faculty member in each of the three categories in their respective colleges for the 2021-22 academic year.

Posted in: Faculty Scholarship & Service, News, Professor Silverstein's Scholarship & Service, Professor Steinbuch's Scholarship & Service

Comments are closed.