Skip to main content

UA Little Rock to Host Third Annual Chancellor’s Concert April 11 

Members of the Trojan Steel Band perform on campus in hopes of collecting donations for the Percussion Club.
UA Little Rock students perform on campus. Photo by Ben Krain.

UA Little Rock will hold its third annual Chancellor’s Concert on Thursday, April 11, featuring the musical stylings of student ensembles and soloists from the School of Literary and Performing Arts. 

The concert, which is free and open to the public, will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall located in the Fine Arts Building. A performance unlike any other, the Chancellor’s Concert features nearly every student ensemble in the music program at UA Little Rock.

“The Chancellor’s Concert, now in its third year, is the Music Program’s largest event of the academic year,” said Dr. Justin Bunting, director of instrumental activities. “This concert features nearly every student ensemble in the Music Program, as well as five student soloists that were selected by a panel of judges via video audition. It is a joy for me every year to construct this program and for all of us to be afforded the opportunity to share the breadth of the Music Program at UA Little Rock.”

Groups performing at this year’s Chancellor’s Concert include the Chamber Singers, Clarinet Ensemble, Concert Choir, Flute Ensemble, Jazz Ensemble, Percussion Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, and Women’s Choir.

The UA Little Rock student ensembles and their pieces include:

·  Concert Choir – “The Last Words of David” by Randall Thompson

·  Piano Ensemble – “Spanish Dance, Op. 12 No. 1” by Moritz Moszkowski

·  Chamber Singers – “And So It Goes” by Billy Joel, arranged by Bob Chilcott and “In Noctem” by Nicholas Hooper

·  Jazz Ensemble – “Buckjump” by Troy Andrews and Mike Ballard, arranged by John Wasson

·  Clarinet Ensemble – “Caprice for Clarinets” by Clare Grundman

·  Percussion Ensemble – “Watercolor Sun” by Ivan Trevino

·  Women’s Choir – “Las Amarillas” arranged by Stephen Hatfield and “Dies Irae” by Z. Randall Stroope

·  Wind Ensemble – “Dusk” by Steven Bryant and “Waltz No. 2” by Dmitri Shostakovich, arranged by Michael Brown

The five student soloists and their pieces include:

·  Max Reyes on flute performing “Hypnosis” by Ian Clarke

·  Val Bell-Ovwiomoriemu, soprano, performing “La Diva de l’Empire” by Erik Satie

·  Shelby Loftis, soprano, performing “There’s a Fine, Fine Line” from Avenue Q by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx

·  Kyndal Collins, soprano, performing “Chanson d’amour” by Gabriel Fauré

·  Nakira Bates on piano performing “Grand Waltz in A-flat major, Op. 34 No. 1” by Frédéric Chopin

For more information or questions regarding the event, please contact the School of Literary and Performing Arts at 501-916-3291.