Three professors lauded as some of UALR’s best

Three business professors will be among the 21 honored at the 2013 UALR Faculty Excellence Awards Ceremony Friday, April 12, at the Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall in the Fine Arts Building.

The evening will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a ceremony in the concert hall, followed by a reception in the Bailey Alumni and Friends Center. The event is free and open to the public.

Joe BellResearch – Joseph R. Bell

Most economists would agree that the true essence of entrepreneurship – to define, invest, build, and repeat a successful business model – is what drives economic recovery.

As the primary driver behind the campus and community integrated Entrepreneurship Program, Professor Joseph R. Bell has applied that same outlook in the academic realm and produced a prolific amount of scholarly work since coming to UALR.

Nancy LandrumPublic Service – Nancy Landrum

Recognized by Arkansas Business Publishing Group as a statewide Eco-Hero, Dr. Nancy Landrum, associate professor of management, is training sustainability-minded business professionals to lead through the next generation.

Landrum developed UALR’s first undergraduate and graduate courses in sustainable business practices, in which students engage in service learning projects. Some of the projects have included Seguku Women’s Association of Uganda Africa, marketing and business development to learn about the realities of working with an organization in an emerging economy; Arkansas Energy Office, research to identify funding sources for businesses to implement energy efficient projects; and the Sustainable Business Network of Central Arkansas, to profile the growing number of sustainable businesses.

Gaurav KumarTeaching – Dr. Gaurav Kumar

Dr. Gaurav Kumar, associate professor of accounting, possesses that gift in the world of higher education and accounting: the ability to provide detailed and technical information about accounting rules and procedures, while also demonstrating how those rules relate to the larger, global accounting perspective.

Pradeep Sapkota, a UALR alumnus who co-authored a paper with Kumar submitted to the American Accounting Association, credits Kumar with helping him grasp the “broader picture” of accounting. “For example, what is so special about the double-entry bookkeeping system, where did it all start, what is its significance, and what value does it hold? Thanks to Dr. Kumar, my eyes have been opened, and I can really put things into perspective

For more information, contact Marita McNair at 501-569-3204. The following is a list of the college-level nominees:


Frances S. Fendler, Professor of Law
Ibrahim Duyar, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership
Kwasi Boateng, Associate Professor of Mass Communication
Joseph R. Bell, Professor of Management
Tansel Karabacak, Associate Professor of Applied Science
Nidhal Bouaynaya, Assistant Professor of Systems Engineering
David F. Mastin, Professor of Psychology


Kelly Browe Olson, Associate Professor of Law and Director of Clinical Programs
Anarella Cellitti, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education
Amy Oliver Barnes, Assistant Professor of Mass Communication
Nancy E. Landrum, Associate Professor of Management
Wm. Jay Sims, Instructor of Earth Sciences
Catherine Lowry, Associate Professor and Chair of Information Science
Angela Hunter, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Interdisciplinary Studies


Coleen M. Barger, Professor of Law
Judith A. Hayn, Associate Professor of Teacher Education
Stacy Moak, Professor of Criminal Justice
Gaurav Kumar, Assistant Professor of Accounting
Margaret E. McMillan, Associate Professor of Earth Sciences
Hirak Patangia, Professor of Engineering Technology
Stacy M. Pendergraft, Professor of Theatre Arts and Dance

Posted in: Accounting, Faculty, Management, News
Read more about: , ,

Comments are closed.