Dean’s Office

Dean – Dr. Eric Sandgren

Dean – Dr. Eric Sandgren

Dean Sandgren

Dr. Eric Sandgren is the Dean of the Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology (EIT). He assumed the post July 1, 2011, upon the retirement of EIT Founding Dean Mary L. Good.

Dr. Sandgren received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University in 1977. His work history includes:

  • Four years as a staff engineer for IBM
  • Six years as an assistant professor and associate director of the Design Productivity Center at the University of Missouri in Columbia
  • Three years as an associate professor of mechanical engineering at Purdue University
  • Seven years as Director of Advanced Engineering at TRW Steering and Suspension Systems
  • Four years as professor and chairman of Mechanical Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Seven years as Dean of the Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering at the University of Nevada in Las Vegas

Dr. Sandgren has received many prestigious awards, including the Robert H. Kohr Award in 1975, the Senior Convocations MAE Outstanding Teacher Award in 1982 and 1983, and the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1984.

Abhijit Bhattacharyya, Ph.D.

Associate Dean and Professor
axbhattachar@ualr.edu
501.683.7117

Shawna Diaz

Executive Director of Finance and Administration
sldiaz@ualr.edu
501.569.8795

Decandria Butler

Recruitment & Outreach Coordinator
dsbutler@ualr.edu
501.569-8715

Vernard Henley

Assistant Dean
vwhenley@ualr.edu
501.569.8203

Jennifer Moody

Director of Student Services & Retention
jlmoody@ualr.edu
501.683.7115

Kyle McCourt

Senior Recruitment and Outreach Coordinator
kxmccourt@ualr.edu
501.569.8597

Laurie Ann Ross, B.A.

Director of Development and External Affairs

Dana Ball

Academic Support Specialist (Graduate Programs)
dgwhite@ualr.edu
501.569.3285

Olivia Ross

Administrative Assistant
okross@ualr.edu
501.569.3441

Cathy Shank

Assistant to the Dean
ccshank@ualr.edu
501.569.8188
Reserve a conference room | 635 | 629
(Must be logged in to UALR Email to View)

Thomas Wallace

Web Services | Information Technology Program Coordinator
tswallace@ualr.edu
501.371-7500

Michelle Yonkey

Administrative Analyst
mdyonkey@ualr.edu
501.569.3412

Resources