Dean’s Office

Dr. Lawrence Whitman

Dean
lewhitman@ualr.edu

whitmanDr. Lawrence Whitman became Dean of the Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology (EIT) on July 1, 2015.

Dr. Whitman earned his Bachelors’ degree in Mechanical Engineering Design Technology from Oklahoma State University where he also earned his Master of Science in Industrial Engineering and Management. He then spent ten years in the aerospace industry as a practicing engineer in Texas where he earned his Professional Engineers license. He joined the Automation & Robotics Research Institute (ARRI) of the University of Texas at Arlington working with local aerospace industry on projects. He then joined the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering at Wichita State University as an Assistant Professor in 1999 where he progressed through the ranks of Associate Professor and Professor. He served as the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education for the College of Engineering at Wichita State University for three years. He joined the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 2015 and is a Professor of Systems Engineering. He has received external funding through the National Science Foundation and from industry partners. Dr. Whitman’s primary research areas are in Lean Systems, Enterprise Engineering and Engineering Education.

Dr. Whitman has 111 publications which have been cited over 850 times and has served as guest editor of Data & Knowledge Engineering Journal. He has also served as session chair at numerous conferences. He is currently chair of Technical Committee 5.3 Enterprise Integration and Networking of the International Federation of Automatic Control and on the Board of Directors of the Industrial Engineering Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.

Jeffrey Connelly, Ph.D., P.G.

Interim Associate Dean and Professor
jbconnelly@ualr.edu
501.683.7117

Shawna Diaz

Executive Director of Finance and Administration
sldiaz@ualr.edu
501.569.8795

Vernard Henley

Assistant Dean
vwhenley@ualr.edu
501.569.8203

Amy Frets

Director of Student Services & Retention
amfrets@ualr.edu
501.683.7115

Ashley Henry, M.S.CSP

Senior Recruitment and Outreach Coordinator
alhenry@ualr.edu
501.569.8597

Lloyd Webre

Director of Development and External Affairs
lgwebre@ualr.edu
501.569.3460

Mark Pace

IT Manager
mhpace@ualr.edu
501.683.7101

Dana Ball

Academic Support Specialist (Graduate Programs)
dgwhite@ualr.edu
501.569.3285

Cathy Shank

Assistant to the Dean
ccshank@ualr.edu
501.569.8188
Reserve a conference room | 635 | 629
(Must be logged in to UALR Email to View)

Thomas Wallace

Web Services | Information Technology Program Coordinator
tswallace@ualr.edu
501.371.7500

Michelle Butler

Administrative Analyst
mdbutler1@ualr.edu
501.569.3412

Treasure Williamson

Recruitment & Outreach Coordinator

Resources