Dean’s Office

Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya
Interim Dean

abDr.Abhijit Bhattacharyya became Interim Dean of the Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology (EIT) on January 5, 2015 following a four-year stint as the Associate Dean of the college.

Dr.Bhattacharyya got his Bachelors’ degree in Mechanical Engineering from the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India and his Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Rutgers University in 1994. Following a postdoctoral stint in Texas A&M University, he joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Alberta, Canada as an Assistant Professor in 1997. He joined the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 2002 and is currently a Professor of Systems Engineering. He has been very active in undergraduate and graduate education as well as the research enterprise within the campus. He has also been a very active participant in the development of the research ecosystem in the State of Arkansas and has recently led a group to develop a research and development (R&D) plan for the State.

Dr. Bhattacharyya has had a very active research agenda in the areas of shape memory alloys, microfluidics, metallic thin films and hydrogen storage. He has been instrumental in bringing a sharp focus on thermal issues in shape memory alloys. He has 86 publications and has served as guest editor of Smart Materials and Structures, Acta Mechanica and is on the Editorial Advisory Board of Acta Mechanica. He has been funded by DARPA, the Army Research Office, NSF-EPSCOR and the Department of Energy. His contributions were recently recognized by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers when he was elected Fellow of the Society.

Abhijit Bhattacharyya, Ph.D.

Interim Dean and Professor
axbhattachar@ualr.edu
501.683.7117

Shawna Diaz

Executive Director of Finance and Administration
sldiaz@ualr.edu
501.569.8795

Vernard Henley

Assistant Dean
vwhenley@ualr.edu
501.569.8203

Jennifer Moody

Director of Student Services & Retention
jlmoody@ualr.edu
501.683.7115

Kyle McCourt

Senior Recruitment and Outreach Coordinator
kxmccourt@ualr.edu
501.569.8597

Decandria Butler

Recruitment & Outreach Coordinator
dsbutler@ualr.edu
501.569.8715

Lloyd Webre

Director of Development and External Affairs
lgwebre@ualr.edu
501.569.3460

Dana Ball

Academic Support Specialist (Graduate Programs)
dgwhite@ualr.edu
501.569.3285

Olivia Ross

Administrative Assistant
okross@ualr.edu
501.569.3441

Cathy Shank

Assistant to the Dean
ccshank@ualr.edu
501.569.8188
Reserve a conference room | 635 | 629
(Must be logged in to UALR Email to View)

Thomas Wallace

Web Services | Information Technology Program Coordinator
tswallace@ualr.edu
501.371.7500

Michelle Yonkey

Administrative Analyst
mdyonkey@ualr.edu
501.569.3412

Resources