Features

Sports

Entertainment

Video

Home » Features

French Pressed

Submitted by Pauline Mothu on August 28, 2013 – 8:21 pmNo Comment

Pauline Mothu

Even though classes started two or three weeks ago, we all are still adjusting to our schedules and classes. I personally don’t have to change classes this semester, but I remember I had to drop and add some during my first semester at UALR. I was confused and surprised to be able to do so, because students cannot do that in France. “How do class schedules work there?,” you may wonder.

It is quite simple. French students get their class schedule when they register during summer, and it cannot change. Let me tell you how it was for me so that you can have a better understanding of the French educational system.

After I graduated from high school, I registered as an English major in college. I knew my class schedule before I started classes: I had phonetics, linguistics, British literature, American literature, British civilization, American civilization, translation from French to English and from English to French, speech, French linguistics, and Spanish. I believe I had around 20 hours a week and around 2 hours of study at home everyday. Students are required to take these classes every semester.

With this kind of system, students have the same classmates for at least three years, which is nice. They cannot drop a class because it is too difficult or because they don’t like it. I was thus, very surprised (and happy), to see that I could drop a class and take another one instead when I first came to UALR.