UALR Names New Business Dean

Dr. Jane P. Wayland has been named the Stephen Harrow Smith dean of the College of Business, according to Dr. Sandra Robertson, interim provost.

Wayland, who was appointed acting dean of the college last month, had been serving as chair of the college’s Department of Marketing and Advertising. She previously was associate dean of Graduate Studies and interim dean of the college for two years.

According to Robertson, Wayland received a strong endorsement from the College of Business Advisory Board that encouraged foregoing any other interim arrangement or a national search. She also received a majority endorsement from the college’s faculty.

“In light of the confidence expressed by the board and the faculty, I believe Jane an excellent choice to fill this position,” said Robertson. “She is familiar with the goals of the college and the university and has already worked in collaboration with faculty and many central Arkansas business and industry leaders. Her experiences as interim dean before and as chair of the marketing department will be invaluable to her.”

Prior to coming to UALR, Dr. Wayland taught for 16 years at Eastern Illinois University where she was a full professor and served as MBA coordinator, associate chair, and chair of the School of Business. She received the 1998 School of Business Distinguished Professor Award in recognition of distinguished teaching, research, and service. She received a Ph.D. in marketing from the University of North Texas and an MBA and B.S. degree from the University of Southern Mississippi.

During her tenure at EIU, she was active in the community serving as president of the Chamber of Commerce, chair of the Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Center Foundation Board, and member of the Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Center Board. She was a founding member of the Women Connected Giving Circle of SBLH System and a member of the Women’s and Children’s Capital Campaign Committee, the City of Charleston Strategic Planning Committee, and the Charleston Tomorrow Steering Committee.

Wayland currently serves on the boards of Economics Arkansas and Sales and Marketing Executives International-Arkansas, is founding member of the College of Business AME Giving Circle, serves on the Delta Trust Women’s Advisory Committee, and is a member of the Arkansas Women’s Leadership Forum.

The UALR College of Business encompasses two statewide economic development and outreach programs, the Institute of Economic Advancement and the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center. This year, the college, which has the largest accredited MBA program in the state, was ranked for the second consecutive year among the Best Undergraduate Business Programs by U.S. News and World Report.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar