UALR Hosts Arkansas Science Olympiad

UALR will host the Arkansas Science Olympiad Saturday, April 14, offering middle and high school students and their schools a chance to participate in the National Science Olympiad in Orlando, Fla.

The state competition is sponsored by UALR’s College of Science and Mathematics, the Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology (EIT), and College of the Ouachitas.

Unlike science fairs, the Science Olympiad consists of two or three students working together to solve various problems at the time of the competition. Each team consists of up to 15 students who spend months preparing for various events that cover life sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and technical problem solving.

Until last year, middle school – Division B, and high school – Division C, students in Arkansas who wanted to participate in the Science Olympiad could enter contests in nearby states but were ineligible to compete at the national level.

“The Arkansas Science Olympiad is dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science education, increasing male, female, and minority interest in science, creating a technology-literate workforce, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers,” said Dr. Eric Kaufmann, professor of mathematics and statistics in the UALR College of Science and Mathematics.

The state competition begins at 8:30 a.m. with an opening ceremony and the parade of schools and ends at 4:45 p.m.

The events will occur in four 60-minute periods with a 15-minute break in between.

The closing ceremony, which begins at 3:45 p.m., will include a keynote speaker, presentation of medals to the winning teams in each event, and the presentation of trophies for the top three teams in each division. The top team in each division will go on to Orlando for the national Olympiad at the University of Central Florida.

Kaufmann said 137 students from 11 different schools are expected to compete at the state event:

Division C (High School):

  • Haas Hall Academy
  • Lavaca High School
  • LISA Academy North Campus
  • LISA Academy West Campus
  • Little Rock Central High School (2 Teams)
  • Nettleton High School

Division B (Middle School):

  • Beebe Junior High School
  • Haas Hall Academy
  • Horace Mann
  • LISA Academy North Campus
  • LISA Academy West Campus (2 Teams)

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar