Film star, notable alums to be honored May 10

A Hollywood actress, a distinguished business leader, and a Donaghey Scholar are among the recipients who will be honored at the annual 2013 UALR Alumni Awards luncheon May 10.

The UALR Foundation Fund Board and the UALR Alumni Association will host the luncheon, which will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the William J. Clinton Presidential Library.

The luncheon is an opportunity to honor recipients of the UALR Alumni Association’s top awards, including the Distinguished Alumni Award, the President’s Award, and the Edward L. Whitbeck Memorial Award.

This year’s honorees:

Hollywood Actress Julie Adams, a 1946 graduate of Little Rock Junior College and winner of the Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor bestowed by the UALR Alumni Association. Born Betty May Adams, she became a recognizable star after being cast as a bathing suit bombshell in 1954’s “Creature from the Black Lagoon.” She was also featured in the musical “Tickle Me” starring Elvis Presley. In addition to appearing in more than 50 films, Adams has had a range of roles in television and stage. She recently completed her biography, “The Lucky Southern Star: Reflections From The Black Lagoon,” an in-depth look at her rise to stardom.

Area business leader Alfred Williams, recipient of the UALR President’s Award, an honor bestowed on individuals with career success and a profound dedication to the university. Williams, senior vice president, special projects director, and risk consultant at BancorpSouth Insurance Services Inc., has continued the legacy of civic duty and commitment to UALR begun by his father, Grainger. Williams established two scholarships at UALR. His wife, in turn, established the Alfred Williams Scholarship in his honor. Williams has been a diligent supporter of the College of Business, the Department of Athletics, and many other divisions of the university. Williams received a B.A. in history/political science in 1966 from then-Little Rock University.

UALR senior and Donaghey Scholar Hamza Arshad of Little Rock, winner of the Edward L. Whitbeck Memorial Award, UALR’s top academic prize. Arshad is interested in becoming a physician and medical ethicist. He is the only UALR student accepted to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences who will graduate this month with two non-science degrees, one in philosophy and one in interdisciplinary studies.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar