Becoming a Licensed Professional Counselor in Arkansas:
Students or graduates of the Master of Arts in Counseling program should follow these steps:
- Applicants need a minimum of 60 hours.
- Arkansas requires that those applying for LPC licensure have at least one-credit hour of technology-assisted counseling services (TACS) training. We offer this course, COUN 7190, as an independent study in addition to program requirements.
- Specific core curriculum content must be covered. Please access the list of UA Little Rock Rehabilitation Counseling courses that meet the Arkansas Counselor Licensure requirements. For more information and the license application, visit the Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling (ABEC) website.
- After applying and meeting all application requirements, the applicant can register to take the National Counselor Examination (NCE).
- After passing the NCE, the applicant is scheduled for an oral examination before the ABEC. This examination is open to the public. Plan to attend one of the board’s monthly meetings to observe an oral examination. Contact the board to determine the best time to observe.
- If the oral interview with ABEC is successful, the applicant becomes a licensed associate counselor (LAC).
- LACs must practice under supervision by an ABEC-approved licensed professional counselor (LPC )supervisor for 3,000 client contact hours.
- After 3,000 hours, the LAC becomes a LPC and can practice independently in Arkansas and have privileged communication protection under state law.
Students or graduates in other states must contact the state licensing board that governs that state’s requirements for licensure. We will gladly work with you to help you meet those requirements.