UALR Community Orchestra to Perform Holiday Concert

The UALR Community Orchestra will give its annual Fall Holiday Concert at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 16 in the Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, Fine Arts Bldg. Music Department Chair Dr. Victor Ellsworth will conduct the 45-piece orchestra as they perform works by Bach, Schubert, a medley of holiday pieces and more.

Admission is free and open to the public. For more information on the event or on joining the orchestra, call the UALR Music Department at (501) 569 – 3294. �
The program is as follows:

Fugue in G Minor (The Little)     �
J.S. Bach (1685–1750 )
Arranged by Lucien Cailliet (1897-1985)

“Unfinished Symphony” No. 8 – B minor
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Air and Scherzo for Alto Saxophone and Small Orchestra
Henry Cowell (1897-1965)


Roses De Noel (Waltz)
Emile Waldteufel (1837-1915)
Arranged by Jerry Brubaker

Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor
Alexander Borodin (1833-1877)
Edited by Carl Simpson

A Most Wonderful Christmas
Arranged by Robert Sheldon
(A medley including Winter Wonderland, I’ll be Home for Christmas, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, and It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year)

Posted in: Event, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.