Department Faculty

Department Chair

Ghosh, AnindyaDr. Anindya Ghosh
Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 483
Office Phone: 501-569-8840
E-mail: axghosh@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Development and applications of novel homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts
  2. Development of materials and catalysts for sustainable energy research
  3. Novel nanomaterials for biological applications

Faculty

Baillie, MarkDr. Mark Baillie
STEM/Chemical Education

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 273/ETAS 125
Office Phone: 501-301-4695
E-mail: mtbaillie@ualr.edu

Research Interests

Chemistry Education Research: How people learn is tied to so many factors before you arrive on campus, and many that are present in the classrooms. I am curious how faculty training (professional development), in-class teaching strategies, and student background all play a role in student success.


Dr. Robert (Bob) E. Belford
Chemical Education

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 277
Office Phone: 501-569-8824
E-mail: rebelford@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Chemistry education and development of educational material and tools
  2. Cheminformatics
  3. Internet of Things

Berry, BrianDr. Brian Berry
Organic Chemistry/Materials Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 477
Office Phone: 501-683-7125
E-mail: bcberry@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Polymer-tethered nanoparticles
  2. Photoactive nanoparticles
  3. Zone annealing block copolymers

Darsey, Jerry A.Dr. Jerome (Jerry) A. Darsey
Director of the Center for Molecular Design and Development
Computational Chemistry/Physical Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 485
Office Phone: 501-569-8828
E-mail: jadarsey@ualr.edu

Research Interests

Computer modeling techniques of atomic and molecular systems for elucidation of chemical and physical properties


Dr. Keith Hudson
Director of Arkansas Space Grant Consortium and NASA/EPSCoR Programs
Analytical and Physical Chemistry/Specialties in Instrumentation and Spectroscopy

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 455
Office Phone: 501-569-8837
E-mail: mkhudson@ualr.edu
NASA Office: FH 506A
         Phone: 501-569-8211

 Research Interests

  1. Rocket and combustion science
  2. Instrumentation and methods in spectroscopy and laser applications

Dr. Noureen SirajSiraj, Noureen
Analytical/Materials Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 457
Office Phone: 501-569-8829
E-mail: nxsiraj@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1. Synthesis, characterization and application of optoelectronic nano-materials
  2. Novel tunable materials for highly efficient photovoltaic cells
  3. Development of novel drugs and therapies for cancer treatment
  4. Sensor design and applications
  5. Design, characterization, and applications of supercapacitors

Viswanathan, TitoDr. Tito Viswanathan
Polymer Chemistry/Organic Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 469
Office Phone: 501-569-8825
E-mail: txviswanatha@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Organic Polymer synthesis
  2. Renewable Resource Utilization
  3. Water purification using carbon composites
  4. Conducting polymers
  5. Organic Reaction Mechanisms
  6. Microwave assisted synthesis

Wang, ShanzhiDr. Shanzhi Wang
Biochemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 489
Office Phone: 501-683-7483
E-mail: sxwang2@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1.   The function of the inflammatory caspases (in vitro)  
  2.   Enzyme inhibitor design

Brian WalkerDr. Brian L. Walker
Chemical Education

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 473
E-mail: blwalker2@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1. Synthetic Methodology
  2. Natural Product Synthesis

Wei ZhaoDr. Wei Zhao
Analytical Chemistry/Laser Spectroscopy/Nanochemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB481
Office Phone: 501-569-8823
E-mail: wxzhao@ualr.edu
Website: https://profiles.ualr.edu/wz1

Research Interests

  1. Nanostructure-Assisted Water Splitting for Hydrogen Production and Storage
  2. Optical Nonlinearity and Structure Relationships of Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes
  3. Development of Novel Doubly Vibrationally Enhanced (DOVE) Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
  4. Applications of 2D IR Correlation Spectroscopy for Molecular Interaction Study
  5. Synthesis and Study of Novel Nanostructural Lanthanide Ion-Doped Materials for Optical Data Storage, Signal Processing and Optical Sensors

Instructors

Marian Douglas
Senior Instructor

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 281
Office Phone: 501-569-8826
E-mail: msdouglas@ualr.edu

 Teaching Interests

  1. Fundamental Chemistry
  2. General Chemistry

Ronia Kattoum
Instructor

Contact Information
Office Location: SCLB 283
Office Phone: 501-569-8970
E-mail: rnkattoum@ualr.edu

Teaching Interests

  1. Preparation for General Chemistry
  2. Fundamental Chemistry I and II
  3. General Chemistry I
  4. Organic Chemistry Survey

Emeritus Professors

Dr. Jeffrey (Jeff) S. Gaffney
Atmospheric/Environmental Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 451
  • Office Phone: (501) 569-8840
  • Fax: (501) 569-8838
  • E-mail: jsgaffney@ualr.edu

Dr. Richard (Dick) H. Hanson
Analytical Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 463
  • Office Phone: (501) 683-7216
  • Fax: (501) 569-8838
  • E-mail: rhhanson@ualr.edu

Dr. Ali U. Shaikh
Analytical Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 455
  • Office Phone: (501) 683-7483
  • Fax: (501) 569-8838
  • E-mail: aushaikh@ualr.edu

Dr. Dominic T.C. Yang
Synthetic Organic Chemistry

  • Office Location:SCLB 457
  • Office Phone: (501) 569-8829
  • Fax: (501) 569-8838
  • E-mail: dtyang@ualr.edu