Department Faculty

Department Chair

Ghosh, AnindyaDr. Anindya Ghosh – Professor of Chemistry
Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 451
Office Phone: 501-916-6542
E-mail: axghosh@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Development and applications of novel homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts
  2. Development of materials and catalysts for sustainable energy research
  3. Novel nanomaterials for biological applications

Faculty

Baillie, MarkDr. Mark Baillie – Assistant Professor of Chemistry
STEM/Chemical Education

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 273/ETAS 125
Office Phone: 501-916-6539
E-mail: mtbaillie@ualr.edu

Research Interests

Chemistry Education Research: How people learn is tied to so many factors before you arrive on campus, and many that are present in the classrooms. I am curious how faculty training (professional development), in-class teaching strategies, and student background all play a role in student success.


Dr. Robert (Bob) E. Belford – Professor of Chemistry
Chemical Education

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 277
Office Phone: 501-916-6540
E-mail: rebelford@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Chemistry education and development of educational material and tools
  2. Cheminformatics
  3. Internet of Things

Berry, BrianDr. Brian Berry – Professor of Chemistry
Organic Chemistry/Materials Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: LIB 501B/SCLB 477
Office Phone: 501-916-6215
E-mail: bcberry@ualr.edu

Research Interests

  1. Polymer-tethered nanoparticles
  2. Photoactive nanoparticles
  3. Zone annealing block copolymers

Darsey, Jerry A.Dr. Jerome (Jerry) A. Darsey – Professor of Chemistry
Director of the Center for Molecular Design and Development
Computational Chemistry/Physical Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 485
Office Phone: 501-916-6541
E-mail: jadarsey@ualr.edu

Research Interests

Computer modeling techniques of atomic and molecular systems for elucidation of chemical and physical properties


Dr. Keith Hudson – Professor of Chemistry
Director of Arkansas Space Grant Consortium and NASA/EPSCoR Programs
Analytical and Physical Chemistry/Specialties in Instrumentation and Spectroscopy

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 455
Office Phone: 501-916-6550
E-mail: mkhudson@ualr.edu
NASA Office: FH 506A
         Phone: 501-916-6672

 Research Interests

  1. Rocket and combustion science
  2. Instrumentation and methods in spectroscopy and laser applications

Dr. Noureen SirajSiraj, Noureen – Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Analytical/Materials Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 457
Office Phone: 501-916-6544
E-mail: nxsiraj@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1. Synthesis, characterization and application of optoelectronic nano-materials
  2. Novel tunable materials for highly efficient photovoltaic cells
  3. Development of novel drugs and therapies for cancer treatment
  4. Sensor design and applications
  5. Design, characterization, and applications of supercapacitors

Wang, ShanzhiDr. Shanzhi Wang – Assistant Professor of Chemistry Biochemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 489
Office Phone: 501-916-6545
E-mail: sxwang2@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1.   The function of the inflammatory caspases (in vitro)  
  2.   Enzyme inhibitor design

Brian WalkerDr. Brian L. Walker – Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Organic and Medicinal Chemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB 473
Office Phone: 501-916-6549
E-mail: blwalker2@ualr.edu

 Research Interests

  1. Synthetic Methodology
  2. Natural Product Synthesis

Wei ZhaoDr. Wei Zhao – Professor of Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry/Laser Spectroscopy/Nanochemistry

Contact Information

Office Location: SCLB481
Office Phone: 501-916-6547
E-mail: wxzhao@ualr.edu
Website: https://profiles.ualr.edu/wz1

Research Interests

  1. Nanostructure-Assisted Water Splitting for Hydrogen Production and Storage
  2. Optical Nonlinearity and Structure Relationships of Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes
  3. Development of Novel Doubly Vibrationally Enhanced (DOVE) Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
  4. Applications of 2D IR Correlation Spectroscopy for Molecular Interaction Study
  5. Synthesis and Study of Novel Nanostructural Lanthanide Ion-Doped Materials for Optical Data Storage, Signal Processing and Optical Sensors

Instructor

Ronia Kattoum -Instructor of Chemistry

Contact Information
Office Location: SCLB 283
Office Phone: 501-916-6543
E-mail: rnkattoum@ualr.edu

Teaching Interests

  1. Preparation for General Chemistry
  2. Fundamental Chemistry I and II
  3. General Chemistry I
  4. Organic Chemistry Survey

Dr. Juliette Rivero -Instructor of Chemistry

Contact Information
Office Location: SCLB 479
Office Phone: 501-916-6548
E-mail: jxriverocas@ualr.edu

Teaching Interests

  1. General Chemistry
  2. Organic Chemistry

Staff

Jacqueline Willis – Administrative Specialist III

Contact Information
Office Location: SCLB 451
Office Phone: 501-916-6546
Fax: 501-916-3838
E-mail: jmwillis@ualr.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Marian Douglas
Senior Instructor

  • Office Location: SCLB 281
  • Office Phone: 501- 916-3152
  • Fax: 501- 916-3838
  • E-mail: msdouglas@ualr.edu

Dr. Jeffrey (Jeff) S. Gaffney
Atmospheric/Environmental Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 451
  • Office Phone: 501- 916-3152
  • Fax: 501- 916-3838
  • E-mail: jsgaffney@ualr.edu

Dr. Richard (Dick) H. Hanson
Analytical Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 463
  • Office Phone: 501- 916-3152
  • Fax: 501- 916-3838
  • E-mail: rhhanson@ualr.edu

Dr. Ali U. Shaikh
Analytical Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 455
  • Office Phone: 501- 916-3152
  • Fax: 501- 916-3838
  • E-mail: aushaikh@ualr.edu

Dr. Tito Viswanathan
Polymer Chemistry/Organic Chemistry

Dr. Dominic T.C. Yang
Synthetic Organic Chemistry

  • Office Location: SCLB 457
  • Office Phone: 501- 916-3152
  • Fax: 501- 916-3838
  • E-mail: dtyang@ualr.edu