MPA Scholarships

The MPA faculty select the recipient for the following scholarships with primary consideration given to the intent of the donor and student performance. New and continuing MPA students are eligible for the one-time awards. Please contact Dr. Jerry Stevenson for more information.

Bryan M. Day MPA Scholarship 
A new scholarship for MPA students has been created by Bryan Day, Executive Director of the Little Rock Port Authority.  Bryan has been involved with state and local government for over 30 years; the positions he has held have allowed him to focus on building and strengthening communities. Bryan received his MPA degree in 1994 and he has been a strong supporter of the program and its students since that time. Outside of his current position, Bryan serves as an adjunct professor for the MPA Program and regularly teaches Urban Management. The Bryan M. Day MPA Scholarship will provide education-related expenses for students enrolled in the Master of Public Administration program and reflects Bryan’s long-term commitment to local government and public service in the state.

John Thompson (Jack) Meriwether Endowed Scholarship
Judy Thompson, Meriwether’s widow, has made a gift of $110,000 to create the John Thompson (Jack) Meriwether Endowed Scholarship in memory of her late husband who passed away in 2013. The endowment will be used to assist Master of Public Administration students at UA Little Rock. This generous contribution will help fund the education of future public servants to follow in the footsteps of Jack Meriwether, the consummate public servant. The scholarship will provide education-related expenses for part or full-time graduate students in the Master of Public Administration program in the School of Public Affairs. The scholarship recipient will be chosen based on financial need and/or merit.

Henry Alexander Scholarship
Often referred to as the Arkansas City Management Association Scholarship, is awarded each fall by the ACMA at its annual meeting. Preference is given to MPA students interested in urban government, especially city management. The scholarship is named after the UA faculty member who began the first MPA program in the State of Arkansas.

Cy and Betta Carney Scholarship
This scholarship is named after two strong patrons of professional public management in Arkansas. Their son, Cy Carney, is a former City Manager of Little Rock, and their daughter, Julann, is a 1994 graduate of UA Little Rock’s MPA Program.

Carmine and Rose Iannacone Endowed Student Award
This Endowed Student Award is in honor of their son, Carl J. Iannacone, who passed away in 2013. Carl was a 1999 UA Little Rock MPA graduate and a highly innovative, experienced, and effective manager at UAMS where he served as the Director of Distribution Services. Carl also taught American National Government at UA Little Rock as an adjunct faculty member and he was a strong supporter of UA Little Rock’s MPA Program.

Jagur and Kylie Klemann Scholarship
This scholarship was created by a former MPA student and his wife to help support current MPA students and the program.  Jagur was actively involved with the Graduate Students of Public Administration (GSPA) while in the program and he organized several fundraising events to support social events to engage our students during that time and help build a sense of community among MPA students and faculty.