Search: Dean of the College of Social Sciences and Communications

Position Summary:

Position Close Date: May 15, 2019

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock invites applications and nominations for the position of Dean of the College of Social Sciences and Communication. The College of Social Sciences and Communication includes 7 units offering degrees at the baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral levels, including the School of Mass Communication and the School of Public Affairs as well as the departments of Applied Communication, Rhetoric and Writing, Criminal Justice, Psychology, and Sociology and Anthropology. The college also supports several interdisciplinary research centers and institutes, including University Television, KLRE/KUAR public radio, the Survey Research Center, the Center for Nonprofit Organizations, and the Center for Public Collaboration. This position is governed by state and federal laws, and agency/institution policy.

Required Education and/or Experience:

Candidates must have a doctorate degree from an accredited institution in one of the college’s program areas and be eligible for appointment at the professor level with tenure and a distinguished record of professional achievement. Candidates must also have a demonstrated capacity for effective administration.

How to Apply and Required Documents:

For complete position description and to submit an application through the online application system, go to (

  1. Candidates should provide a letter of application describing their interest in and qualifications for the position,
  2. Current Vita
  3. List of Five (5) References

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Official transcripts will be required at time of hire.

The search committee will accept applications and nominations until the on-campus interview stage. For best consideration, applications should be completed before May 1, 2019. If you have questions about the position or wish to nominate an individual, please email Theresa Beiner (, Dean and Nadine Baum Distinguished Professor of Law, UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law.

Search Committee

Committee for CSSC Dean Search

Posted in: News, Positions
Read more about:

Comments are closed.