Alum Earns Prestigious Beta Gamma Sigma Award

UALR graduate Marla Johnson Norris, co-founder and chief executive officer of Aristotle, Inc. in Little Rock, will receive the prestigious Beta Gamma Sigma Medallion at 5:30 p.m., Thursday, May 2.

Marla Johnson NorrisNorris is only the second Arkansan to receive this national award, which is given to those who contribute significantly to the vitality and strength of the economy, combining business achievement with service to humanity.

Dr. Jane P. Wayland, dean of UALR’s College of Business, nominated Norris for the honor. Beta Gamma Sigma officials will travel to Little Rock for the presentation, which is locally sponsored by the UALR College of Business and the Little Rock Chamber of Commerce.

The ceremony will be held at the Little Rock Chamber of Commerce AT&T Auditorium. A reception will follow in the Deltic Timber Atrium.

Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society serving programs accredited by AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) of which the UALR College of Business has met its rigorous set of quality standards.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition that a business student in an accredited program can receive.

Norris received her M.A. degree in education with honors from UALR and is a summa cum laude graduate of the University of Memphis. In 1995, she co-founded Aristotle, an internet and interactive design company, marketing and consulting firm, beginning as a four-person operation.

The firm now has 75 employees and is recognized as a pioneer in a rapidly changing industry, one that continues to develop new approaches to interactive and web services, emerging technologies and communication opportunities. Aristotle’s client base includes the arts, museums, hospitals, tourism, government, and politics.

Both Norris and her firm are known for philanthropic activities, donating substantial time and services to community organizations. Norris has received recognition from the University of Arkansas, Arkansas Community Foundation, the University of Memphis, the National Association of Women Business Owners, Arkansas Business, the Rotary Foundation, and the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame, among others.

For more information about the award ceremony or the UALR College of Business, contact Jane Wayland at (501) 569-3356.

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.