Chris Beard named coach of the year, Trojans earn all-conference honors

Trojans men's basketball Coach Chris Beard shakes a player's hand during a recent game

As they prepare for the Sun Belt Conference tournament this week, the Little Rock Trojans men’s and women’s basketball teams already earned multiple conference accolades.

Men’s team

After setting a program record for wins (27) and earning the regular season Sun Belt Conference title, the Trojans placed three players on All-Sun Belt Conference squads, and Coach Chris Beard earned the conference coach of the year award.

Josh Hagins was named first-team All Sun Belt Conference, while Marcus Johnson Jr. earned a second-team honor, and Roger Woods was a third-team honoree. This was the first time the Trojans have had three All-Sun Belt Conference players in the same season.

Beard, in his first year as a Division 1 head basketball coach, helped engineer a 14-win turnaround from the previous season and, in the process, became the third Little Rock coach to be named Sun Belt Conference coach of the year. His squad led the nation in wins and winning percentage.

For more on the men’s team honors, click here.

Women’s team

Following a regular season that included a second-place finish in the Sun Belt Conference and 13 consecutive wins, two Trojans earned All-Sun Belt team honors.

Shanity James was named to the conference’s first team, while Alexius Dawn earned a second-team honor, the second of her career.

For more on the women’s team honors, click here.

Conference tournament schedule

The women’s team has advanced to the finals game at 7 p.m. Saturday, while the men’s first tournament game will be a semifinal contest at 1 p.m. Saturday. Both tournaments are occurring at Lakefront Arena in New Orleans.

ESPN3 will broadcast all games, with the exception of the men’s conference championship game, which will appear on ESPN2.

For more details and updates, click here.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar