College of Social Sciences and Communication honors McIntyre, student research winners

The winners of the College of Social Sciences and Communication Research and Creative Works Showcase.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock College of Social Sciences and Communication presented Dr. Kristen McIntyre with the Faculty Mentor Award and awarded six additional student research prizes during the college’s Research and Creative Works Showcase on Feb. 27. 

Dr. Julien Mirivel, interim dean of the college, said McIntyre is deserving of the award, which was created to celebrate a faculty member from the college who goes above and beyond in being a positive role model and mentor for their students.

“She is always mentoring, always teaching, and always available to students,” Mirivel said. “I think this award is well deserved. We have great faculty in every unit of our college, and Kristen is a great example. She is very engaged with her students.”

McIntyre, associate professor of applied communication, said she was surprised, humbled, and overwhelmed to receive the award.

“I think the secret to being a good faculty mentor is listening,” McIntyre said. “I think you have to love your students, and you have to practice tough love sometimes. You have to give students what they need even if it’s not what they want.”

The showcase featured about 65 presentations from students, faculty, and staff of the college, many of which highlight the college’s mission to apply “theory and research to drive social change and inspire human expression, reflection, and interconnection.”

“I really believe that we use our own work not just to understand, but to reach out and try to improve the world around us,” Mirivel said.

A prime example of the college’s belief in improving the world through research is the recipient of the Community Engagement Award, which recognizes the research project that most affects the community.

Leonardo Moya, who is majoring in rhetoric and writing, won the award for his project, “Homeless in Little Rock.” Moya’s faculty mentor was Dr. Heidi Skurat-Harris.

Additional award winners include:

  •      Student Government Association President Brian Gregory, a senior political science major, won the Undergraduate Research Award for his project, “Growing Grace.” Dr. Rebecca Glazier served as Gregory’s faculty mentor. 
  •      Mass Communication student Dallas Smith won the Undergraduate Creative Works Award for his presentation of the film, “The Bombastic Scholastic,” which he and several of his colleagues from their Cinema Techniques class at UA Little Rock produced.  His colleagues on the project included Zatches Allen, Eric Holsomback, Bailey Park, and Nathan Treece. 
  •      Mary Hughes, a criminal justice major, won the Graduate Research Award for her paper, “Is My Health Why I’m Scared? Examining the Effects of Perceived Health Conditions in Fear of Crime.” Her faculty mentor was Dr. Robert Lytle. 
  •      Kristena Merritt, a graduate student in the Department of Rhetoric and Writing, won the Graduate Creative Works Award for her paper, “Powerfemme Conversations.” Dr. Londie Martin served as her faculty mentor. 
  •      Tabrina Bratton, a criminal justice major, won the Poster Presentation Award for her research, “Predicting Regional Hate Crime Rates: The Relationship between Fundamentalism and Attitudes Toward Sexual Orientation.” Bratton’s faculty mentors were Dr. Tusty ten Bensel and Dr. Robert Lytle.

Iveta Imre, assistant professor of mass communication, headed the showcase’s task force, which included Chatham-Carpenter, Lytle, Martin, and ten Bensel.

In the upper right photo, winners of the UA Little Rock College of Social Sciences and Communication Research and Creative Works Expo (L to R) include Tabrina Bratton, Poster Presentation Award; Mary Hughes, Graduate Research Award; Kristen McIntyre, Faculty Mentor Award; Julien Mirivel, interim dean of the college; and Dallas Smith and Nathan Treece, Undergraduate Creative Works Award.

Share this Post: