Skip to main content

UA Little Rock to honor Safe Foods Co-Founder Carl Rosenbaum with 11th annual Fribourgh Award

Carl Rosenbaum
Fribrough Award honoree Carl Rosenbaum, co-founder of Safe Foods Co. Photo by Ben Krain.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock will celebrate Carl Rosenbaum, co-founder of Safe Foods, as the recipient of the 2021 Fribourgh Award. 

The James H. Fribourgh Award honors individuals who have made considerable contributions to the state of Arkansas through mathematics and science. This year’s reception will be from 6-8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 21, at Chenal Country Club, 10 Chenal Club Blvd., Little Rock.

Jerry and Sherri Damerow, 2017 recipients of the Fribourgh Award, the Board of Safe Foods Corporation, and Arkansas Glass Container Corporation are serving as the event’s presenting sponsors.

Rosenbaum is chairman of the Board of Arkansas Glass Container Corp., a partner in Rosenbaum Brothers Partnership, and chairman of the Board of Safe Foods Corporation. He graduated from Castle Heights Military Academy and the University of Arkansas with a bachelor’s degree in finance.

Proceeds will be used to create the Carl Rosenbaum Endowed Scholarship Fund that will help UA Little Rock attract and retain high-achieving, full-time undergraduate students majoring in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields.

“The Fribourgh awardee this year is a terrific example of how Arkansas-based research can lead to significant economic development here in Arkansas,” Jerry Damerow said. “Honoree and highly successful entrepreneur Carl Rosenbaum founded Safe Foods based on research conducted right here in Central Arkansas. Fribourgh scholarship recipients will be the scientists, engineers, and entrepreneurs who develop future great products here in Central Arkansas that will power our economy just as Safe Foods is doing today.”

A Rotarian since 1965, Rosenbaum has been a member of the Rotary Club of Little Rock since 1972 and served Club 99 as president in 1983-84. He was rotary governor of District 6150 in 1990-91 and has served as a director of Rotary International 1997-1999. Previously, he was finance chairman for the Board of Rotary International and national advisor for the Permanent Fund, chairman of the Investment Advisory Group of Rotary International, consultant to the Fund Development Committee of The Rotary Foundation, and chairman of Rotary International Finance Committee.

He has held offices in numerous civic organizations, including Youth Home, YMCA, and Boy Scouts Council. He has also served on the Advisory Council of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and was past president of Community Concerts of Greater Little Rock. He has served on the board of directors of Regions Bank of Little Rock. Rosenbaum was chairman of the Board for the Governor’s Mental Health System Task Force, and he served the state as commissioner of the Arkansas Department of Economic Development for four years. He has served on the Sam Walton University of Arkansas Business School Dean’s Advisory Board and is past chairman of the Arkansas Department of Transportation Commission. 

Rosenbaum resides in Little Rock with his wife, Martha. They have three married children and six grandchildren and are members of Little Rock’s First Baptist Church.

UA Little Rock is celebrating the 11th anniversary of the Fribourgh Awards, which began in 2010 to honor the late Dr. James H. Fribourgh, UA Little Rock professor emeritus, who served for more than 45 years as chair of Life Sciences, interim chancellor, vice chancellor for academic affairs, and distinguished professor of biology.

Past recipients include Jerry B. Adams, president and CEO of Arkansas Research Alliance; H. Watt Gregory III, partner at Kutak Rock LLP; Dr. Charles E. Hathaway, UA Little Rock chancellor emeritus and Donaghey distinguished professor; Peter Banko, former president and CEO of St. Vincent Health System and now president and CEO at Central Health; Dr. James Hendren, former CEO and chairman of Arkansas Systems Inc.; the late Dr. Mary Good, founding dean of the UA Little Rock College of Engineering and Information Technology; Jerry Damerow, a retired Ernst and Young partner, and Sherri Damerow, a retired kindergarten teacher; Cory Davis, partner and principal consultant at the Center for Toxicology and Environmental Health, and the late Dr. Raye Montague, an internationally registered professional engineer who is credited with creating the first computer-generated rough draft of a U.S. naval ship.

Tickets are $75 and can be purchased at this website. For more information and sponsorship opportunities, please contact Derek Boyce, director of development and external relations, at or 501-416-0611.