Dr. Nitin Agarwal awarded 2015 Faculty Excellence award in research

nitinThe UALR Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology would like to congratulate Nitin Agarwal for winning the 2015 UALR Faculty Excellence Award for research.

Dr. Nitin Agarwal is a pioneer in the social computing discipline who has helped open many doors for innovation for the scientific community. He studies the modern and complex systems of information communication technologies, which is a connection between humans and computers that give rise to many interesting sociotechnical behaviors—a prime example of which is social media. These behaviors also include cyberactivism, crowdsourcing, health 2.0, hacktivism, and cyber warfare among others. Agarwal has received eight federal grants – seven of which are currently active – with total funding of more than $2 million. By analyzing the social media-led campaign organization efforts of the Saudi Arabian women, Agarwal is developing methodologies to advance the understanding of interconnected collective actions conducted through modern social and information systems. Agarwal has a Ph.D. in computer science from Arizona State University and a B.Tech. in information technology from the Indian Institute of Information Technology.

He received his award at the annual Faculty Excellence ceremony held Thursday, April 16, along with Drs. Jeff Gaffney and Thomas Tudor who won in the categories of public service and teaching, respectively. To learn more, go to the 27th Annual Faculty Excellence Awards. A reception followed in the lobby.

Each award consists of a framed certificate and a cash gift of $10,000 for teaching and $5,000 in research or creative endeavors and in public service. The ceremony recognized college-level and university-level winners in each category.

For the past 27 years, the free, public event has provided a way to recognize outstanding UALR faculty. The awards program is made possible through the contributions of The Bailey Foundation, Pepsi Beverages Co., and the UALR Chancellor’s Circle.

Winners were selected by a panel of national judges who reviewed the achievements of the college-level winners.

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.