Skip to main content

Business Students Receive Scholarships, Department Awards

Holly Beason of North Little Rock, and Thomas Thompson of Cabot each won two new alumni scholarships offered by the UALR College of Business at the college’s end-of-the-semester awards banquet April 24.

Rebecca Van Den Houte, an international business major from Little Rock, received the first Elaine Eubank Endowed Scholarship.

Beason, a finance major, won the Elizabeth Small Alumni Scholarship. Thompson, majoring in accounting, won the Drew Higginbothom Alumni Scholarship. A number of other scholarships were awarded.

Additionally, students who were in the two teams that made it to the national finals of the Microsoft Imagine Cup Competition and members of the four teams who were finalists in the Donald W. Reynolds Governor’s Cup, along with their faculty mentors, were recognized.

Dr. Jimie Kusel, professor of accounting, won the Harper W. Boyd, Jr. Professor of Excellence Award, and faculty members who represented the College of Business in all three Faculty Excellence categories were acknowledged.

Department of Accounting

  • Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants Scholarship – Charles Bobbitt, Leigh Green, and Tiffany Stuart
  • Bell & Company Scholarship – Cynthia Dickerson and Vanessa Ramirez
  • BKD LLP Scholarship – Leigh Green, Tiffany Stuart, and Emil White
  • Robert C. Culpepper Scholarship – LaQuinta Broyles
  • Terri D. Thompson Endowed Scholarship – Vicki Goodman

Department of Economics and Finance

  • Bill B. May Endowed Scholarship – Angela McMiller, Billy Scott, Latricia Nelson, and Clark Hunt
  • USAble Life Insurance Company Endowed Scholarship – William Byrd and Igor Nikitin
  • The Charles Minor Taylor II Scholarship – Mirena Dimova and Joy Stigall
  • C.H. Richter Memorial Scholarship – Holly Beason and Katarina Lovrantova
  • Arkansas Life Underwriters Trust Fund Scholarship – Joy Stigall
  • E. Grainger & Frances B. Williams Endowed Insurance Scholarship – Kim Noessar
  • James H. Penick Memorial Scholarship – Hsiang-An Hsieh and Mirena Dimova
  • Jimmy R. Newell Endowed Scholarship – Katarina Lovrantova
  • Norman Farris Bank Award – Thomas Thompson
  • Raymond Rebsamen Insurance Endowed Scholarship – Kim Noessar and Igor Nikitin
  • William C. Goolsby Endowed Scholarship in Real Estate – Holly Beason

Department of Management

  • Paul Williams Memorial Endowed Scholarship – Stephanie Mowery and Yan Zhang
  • Virginia Bailey Little Rock Rotary Club Entrepreneurial Education Scholarship – Justin McEntire

Department of Marketing

  • Department of Marketing Scholarship – Stephanie Mowery