Skip to main content

UA Little Rock to hold University Assembly Oct. 9

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock will hold the University Assembly meeting virtually at 1 p.m. Friday, Oct. 9.

The assembly will include a state of the university address by Chancellor Christina Drale as well as addresses by University Assembly and Faculty Senate President Amanda Nolen, Provost Ann Bain, Staff Senate President Cody Henslee, Student Government Association President Landon DeKay, and Dr. Cody Decker, vice chancellor of student affairs and chair of the COVID Emergency Response Team.

In new business, the University Assembly will vote on a motion to make the Institutional Effectiveness Committee (IEC) a standing University Assembly committee. The original IEC was formed in 2018 to assist with the university’s reaccreditation process.

The reconfigured committee will promote continuous improvement at UA Little Rock through the review of cost units for effectiveness, efficiency, and mission centrality, as well as serve in an advisory capacity to the chancellor and cabinet of the university. The IEC will also determine a schedule for university-wide review, with all units being reviewed at least once every five years.

In old business, the University Assembly will take a second vote on an amendment to the constitution that allows the Faculty Senate to be reapportioned every two years by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. The modification up for vote is to give the Faculty Senate Executive Committee the authority to conduct such an extraordinary census in the event of a reorganization of existing colleges.

A link to the virtual meeting, the agenda for University Assembly, and the minutes from the April 10 meeting can be found on the UA Little Rock Faculty Senate website. The link to join the meeting will go live at around 12:40 p.m.