University Assembly and Faculty Senate

 Welcome to the University Assembly’s web page. The University Assembly and the Faculty Senate are the primary legislative bodies for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.


Regular Faculty Senate Meeting:  January 25, 2019  

1:00pm in the DSC Ledbetter B/C 


Faculty Senate Agenda for January 25, 2019 (REVISED)

Minutes from November 16, 2018

Expanded Appendix C – Policy 403.3 Annual Review of Faculty

Undergraduate Council Report (January 2019)

Graduate Council Report (January 2019)

Council on Core Curriculum and Policies Report (January 2019)



About the University Assembly

The University Assembly is the overarching governance body and is composed of key administrators, all full-time regular faculty, elected members of the Staff Senate, and student representatives selected by the Student Government Association. All legislative functions of the UALR Assembly are assigned to the UALR Faculty Senate subject only to the right of the Assembly to amend or rescind legislative actions of the Faculty Senate.

About the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is composed of faculty representing each college, one senator for each ten faculty; the chancellor; provost; president of the Staff Senate; and president of the Student Government Association. The areas of the Faculty Senate’s legislative authority shall include but are not limited to the following:

  1. Admission requirements
  2. Curriculum and courses
  3. Degrees and requirements for degrees
  4. Calendar and schedules
  5. Awards, honors and honorary degrees
  6. Interpretation of its own legislation

In addition to its legislative authority and all actions taken under this authority, the Faculty Senate shall make comments and recommendations on matters of UALR concern and multi-campus concern.