Skip to main content

UA Little Rock students honor one-of-a-kind faculty members

University of Arkansas at Little Rock students are honoring faculty members who have made a positive impact in their lives through the 2021 We Heart Our Faculty Awards.  

Overall, six UA Little Rock faculty members were selected by undergraduate, graduate, and law school students. Each of the recipients will receive a certificate and a one-of-a-kind, handmade glass heart created by Pine Bluff glass artist James Hayes in the colors of UA Little Rock. 

The glass hearts symbolize positive, influential support that makes a real difference in the lives of students. As students enter the university to pursue their education, faculty often play a nurturing role, guiding students through the learning process and working hard to foster an environment that best ensures success. 

“There is no doubt that this school year has been extremely challenging for our students, but oftentimes we fail to acknowledge the enormous amount of work that our faculty members put into ensuring that our students excel,” SGA President Landon DeKay said.

For the 2021 year, the We Heart Our Faculty Awards awards were expanded to also highlight graduate and law school faculty who were selected by the UA Little Rock Graduate Student Government Association and the William H. Bowen School of Law students. 

“These awards originated with our student government leaders, and this initiative clearly demonstrates that our students recognize the positive impact that faculty have on their lives,” said Dr. Ann Bain, executive vice chancellor and provost. “Our faculty make a difference in ensuring our students complete their degree and achieve their career goals, and they do this in a manner that is supportive and inclusive.”

The 2021 award recipients include:

UA Little Rock Student Government Association

  • David Briscoe, professor of sociology
  • John Talburt, professor of information science and coordinator for the Information Quality Graduate Program
  • Cynthia Johnson, advanced instructor of accounting

Graduate Student Government Association

  • Barbara L’eplattenier, professor of rhetoric and writing
  • John Talburt, professor of information science and coordinator for the Information Quality Graduate Program
  • Jason Kushner, professor of counseling and graduate program coordinator

William H. Bowen School of Law

  • Joshua Silverstein, professor of law