Skip to main content

Briscoe Elected Division II Vice President of Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Faculty Excellence nominee David Briscoe. Photo by Ben Krain.
Faculty Excellence nominee David Briscoe. Photo by Ben Krain.

Dr. David Briscoe, Inaugural University Professor of Sociology and Distinguished Teaching Fellow at UA Little Rock, has been elected the Division II vice president for the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

Briscoe was elected during the 47th Biennial Convention of Phi Kappa Phi Aug. 4-6 in Orlando, Florida. In his new role, he will provide advice, counsel, and leadership to dozens of Phi Kappa Phi chapters within Division II.

“Phi Kappa Phi is a wonderful organization that recognizes thousands of outstanding college students every year,” Briscoe said. “I am thankful for being elected the Division II vice president since this gives me another opportunity to serve others as a labor of love.”

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective multidisciplinary collegiate honor society and initiates approximately 25,000 members a year on more than 325 campuses in the United States, its territories, and the Philippines.

Briscoe was inducted into the UA Little Rock chapter of Phi Kappa Phi in 1994 and served as chapter president in 2002. In 2005, he became a distinguished member of Phi Kappa Phi and the first African American in the United States to receive the National Phi Kappa Phi Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award in 2018. He has participated in three national conventions and served on three national committees.

He earned a B.A. in sociology and an M.A. in criminal justice at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, and a Ph.D. in family sociology from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. He is also an alumnus of numerous leadership and education institutes at Harvard, Princeton, Yale, and Oxford.

He is the 2020 university-wide recipient of the UA Little Rock Faculty Excellence Award in Public Service and the recipient of the 2021 university-wide Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching. He was inducted into the UA Little Rock Trojans Athletics Hall of Fame this year. He is a Distinguished Eagle Scout and a recipient of the Silver Buffalo Award, scouting’s highest award for distinguished service to youth on a national level.