Graduation Requirements (Graduate School) – LR 509.11

Back to Student Affairs

University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Policy Name: Graduation Requirements
Policy Number: LR 509.11
Effective Date: August 15, 2011
Revised Dates:
Most Recent Review Date:


In order to maintain quality and insure some degree of uniformity across programs at UA Little Rock, minimum degree requirements have been defined. In addition to the requirements defined by the Graduate School, graduate programs may, and often do, set more stringent requirements. Graduate students are advised to view all programmatic requirements in addition to those defined by the Graduate School.

Degree Requirements

All UA Little Rock graduate degree programs require at least 30 hours of graduate credit and graduate certificate programs require at least 12 hours of graduate credit. The Graduate School requires that all graduate students seeking graduation must be in good academic standing (see Scholastic Standards Policy) at the time of graduation. This includes the requirement of a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 on all graduate courses taken for or during that program for graduation. In extremely rare circumstances and with the approvals of their graduate coordinators and the Dean of the Graduate School, a student can take up to nine (9) hours beyond their program requirements to achieve the minimum GPA.

Doctoral programs require a residency as described in the Graduate Catalog sections on specific degrees. The Residency Plan Form must be submitted before the end of the first semester of the residency.

Time Limits

All requirements must be completed within seven consecutive calendar years for master’s degrees and within ten consecutive calendar years for specialists and doctoral degrees. Time lost for military service and other approved reasons (e.g., leave of absence, health, family care issues, etc.) may be excluded from the time requirements.

Status: Active
Approved by: Graduate Council and Faculty Senate
Custodian: Office of the Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School