COB professors Johnson and Varela honored at UALR 2017 Faculty Excellence Awards

Cynthia Johnson photoThe University of Arkansas at Little Rock honored 14 of its top faculty members during the Faculty Excellence Awards Thursday, April 13.   Among those honored were Advanced Instructor in Accounting Dr. Cynthia Johnson and Assistant Professor of Management Dr. Otmar Varela.

Dr. Johnson was honored in the field of Public Service, while Dr. Varela was honored in the field of Teaching.

“Faculty excellence winners underscore UA Little Rock’s commitment to quality instruction, innovative research, and service to the community. Our faculty’s dedication to these fundamental principles continue to be the bedrock of our institution,” said Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Dr. Deborah Baldwin.

Otmar Varela photoA panel of external judges will review the achievements of the college-level winners and select the university-wide winners in the categories of teaching, research, and public service. Since 1989, when the first award was given, the event has provided a way to recognize the great work of UA Little Rock faculty and is made possible through the valued contributions of the Office of the Chancellor, the Office of the Provost, and the UA Little Rock Chancellor’s Circle.

To learn more about the UALR Accounting program, please visit:

To learn more about the UALR Management program, please visit:

Posted in: Accounting, Faculty, Management, News

Comments are closed.