Skip to main content

UA Little Rock Students Win 11 Awards in Newspaper Competition

Professor Sonny Rhodes celebrates with students Chloe McGehee and Bryan Hernandez!
Professor Sonny Rhodes celebrates with students Chloe McGehee and Bryan Hernandez!

Eight student journalists at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock have won 11 awards in the 93rd annual Arkansas College Media Association (ACMA) conference for their work in The Forum, UA Little Rock’s student newspaper.

The awards, which were for work done throughout 2021, were announced April 8 at the ACMA meeting at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. The awards included a second-place finish in the prestigious Newspaper of the Year category.

“I’m extremely proud of the staff’s accomplishments,” said Sonny Rhodes, Forum adviser. “They have worked very hard under trying conditions throughout the pandemic. The awards demonstrate excellence in a wide breadth of categories, including newswriting, opinion, photography, and page design. I’m beyond grateful for their hard work.”

In individual awards, Forum writer Magnolia Risley took home three first-place awards in the feature photo, newswriting, and review writing categories.

Additional student winners, places of finish, and categories include:

  • Marissa Davis, first place, art/illustration
  • Amanda Gordon, honorable mention, sports feature
  • Chloe McGehee, honorable mention, election/political
  • Chloe McGehee and Marissa Davis, first place, front page layout
  • Ahad Nadeem, honorable mention, general column
  • Danielle Spence, third place, in-depth news
  • Bennett Wood and Remington Miller, third place, review writing

The Arkansas College Media Association is composed of private and public colleges and universities throughout the state, including Arkansas State University, Arkansas Tech University, Central Baptist College, Harding University, Henderson State University, Northwest Arkansas Community College, Ouachita Baptist University, and the University of Central Arkansas.