Policy Management Board

The Policy Management Board is tasked by the chancellor with the management of policy process. See the Policy on Policy Management – 216.1 for detailed information.

The Policy Management Board serves as a resource for policy originators and custodians: it can aid in policy development or proposals to change policy, and it reviews policy before chancellor’s approval. The parameters of Policy Management Board review for new policy or revised policy will include formatting and appropriate use of template, clarity, consistency, and compliance with state and federal law, board policy, and/or any other external mandate or guidance.


The Policy Management Board creates, maintains, and revises the policy template or templates. It ensures that regular review of active policies is occurring by policy originators and custodians through maintaining and coordinating the schedule of policy review submitted by policy originators.

Policy Management Board (PMB) - Policy Review Schedule

The Policy Management Board meets every two weeks to review submissions of New or Revised Policies.

Unless otherwise required by federal, state or other applicable law, policies will be reviewed by the custodian at least once every three (3) years.

The PMB monitors and ensures compliance with the review schedule.

Composition of the Policy Management Board

The Board is composed of the following members, per the Policy on Policy Management:

  • At least one member appointed by each vice chancellor to represent their divisions;
  • One representative from University Legal Counsel;
  • One representative from Faculty Senate;
  • One representative from Staff Senate.

Additional Advisory Members may be selected to serve on the Board for their expertise and knowledge in specific areas.

Policy Management Board Members 2023-24 Academic Year

Member NameBoard Role and/or Division RepresentedTitle/Department
Dr. Richard HarperChair Dean of Students for Student Affairs
Leslie HutchinsStaff Senate Rep.Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities Management
Dr. Shannon Collier-TenisonAcademic Affairs RepAssociate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Relations & Admin.
Dr. Tusty ten BenselDiversity Council Rep.Professor/School of Criminal Justice and Criminology
LaTonda WilliamsFinance & Administration Rep.Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
Dr. Carrie PhillipsUniversity Advancement Rep.Chief Communications and Marketing Officer
Michael GibbsAthletics Rep.Associate Athletic Director for Compliance
Desiree TaggardAdvisory MemberDirector of Procurement Services
Amy FretsAdvisory MemberBursar for Cashier's Office & Student Accounts
Lisa Shellito-BenbrookPolicy CoordinatorAdministrative Operations Manager for Finance & Administration
Sheri O'BrienPast Policy Coordinator/Ex officio, Non VotingContract Review Manager for Finance & Administration
Charles LyfordGeneral Counsel/Ex officio, Non-votingAssociate General Counsel
Dr. Karen Kuralt, Ph.D.Graduate School Rep.Associate Dean, Graduate School