Department Writing Award Winners 2017 Announced

Dr. Joe Williams, Coordinator of the Student Writing Awards

Dr. Joe Williams, Coordinator of the Student Writing Awards

The Rhetoric and Writing Department Student Writing Award winners were announced at the annual awards ceremony on Thursday, May 4.

The department offers ten awards for student writing produced in rhetoric and writing classes, from first-year through graduate-level. This year, sixty-seven students submitted writing to be considered for awards in eight categories and for two overall awards.

“Many students at UA-Little Rock are fantastic writers who are just looking for the right home on campus to develop their skills. The awards competition reminds me that our Rhetoric and Writing majors have found that home.” said Joe Williams, Coordinator of the Student Writing Awards

“We were thrilled to have such a large and diverse number of writers participate in the awards competition. We saw a wide range of strong work, from creative nonfiction to web design to technical communication to argumentation.”

Greg Graham, Instructor of Rhetoric and Writing, presented the award winners a cash award and a certificate.


Ashley Deen 2017 Overall Undergraduate Writing Award Winner 2017

Overall Undergraduate Winner & Nonfiction Award Winner
Ashley Deen for “Sympathy for the Devil

Lisa Stine Wins Overall Graduate Writing Award 2017

Overall Graduate Winner & Research or Theoretical Award Winner
Lisa Stine for ““Analysis of 2016 Presidential Candidate Social Media Activity

Heather Tolliver Wins Design Writing Award 2017

Design Award
Heather Tolliver for “Black Heroes: Comic Books and the Politics of Race

Robert McCarville Wins Editing Award 2017

Robert McCarville for “Smart Art Editing

Jana Jolly Wins First-Year Writing Award 2017

First-Year Writing
Jana Jolly for “The Day the Earth Stood Still

Hope Osborne Wins New Media and Technology 2017

New Media and Technology
Hope Osborne for “Inclusive Exclusivity

Tina Butler Lee, Amy Rhea, Amber White and Megan Nolan (not pictured) Technical and Workplace Writing Award Winners 2017

Technical and Workplace Writing
Tina Butler Lee, Megan Nolan (not pictured), Amy Rhea, and Amber White

Persuasive Writing
Lisa Gibson Williams for “Restorative Justice as a Means of Reducing Recidivism” (not pictured)

In addition to these writing awards, Tina Butler Lee received the Oliver-Breeze-Kennedy Scholarship for Technical Writing.

Tina Butler Lee Receives Oliver-Breeze-Kennedy Scholarship 2017

For more information about the Department of Rhetoric and Writing Student Writing Awards, please see the  student writing awards webpage.

Posted in: Main

Comments are closed.