Writing Students Honored at 2018 Department Writing Awards

Dr. Joe Williams and Dr. Barb L’Eplattenier hosted the 2018 Department Writing Awards Ceremony was held Friday, May 4, 2018 at U.S. Pizza. The department faculty and students gathered to honor eleven students in eight categories. The Donna Barkan Jensen Scholarship for Family Writing was also awarded.

“The department had another wonderful awards ceremony this year, celebrating the work of our talented writers. We believe it’s vital to support our students by showcasing their work, and these awards make that possible,” Dr. Williams said.

Each winner received a certificate and a monetary award.

Overall Graduate Award Winner
New Media and Technology Award
Photo of Tori Watson and Dr. Barb L'Eplattenier
Tori Watson & Jacklyn Carroll (not pictured)
Public Intellectuals: A Rhetorical Analysis

Overall Undergraduate Award Winner 
Research and Theoretical Writing Award

Photo of Jana Jolly and Dr. Barb L'EplattenierJana Jolly
Addressing the Problem of Expanding Elderly and Terminally Ill Prison Population
in the Arkansas Department of Corrections

Technical and Workplace Writing Award and
Donna Barkan Jensen Scholarship for Writing About Families

Photo of Dr. Barb L'Eplattenier and Rhonda ThomasRhonda Thomas
Grant Writing: An Analysis of the Genre

Creative Nonfiction Award

Photo of Stefan Diamante and Dr. Barb L'Eplattenier Stefan Diamante
Something about Benton, Arkansas

Design Award

Photo of Loren Snow and Dr. Barb L'EplattenierLoren Snow
Color Code

Editing Award

Photo of Kristina Yarberry and and Dr. Barb L'Eplattenier

Kristina Yarberry, Tanner Sullivan (not pictured), & Robert Ewing (not pictured)
A Guide to Surviving Minecraft

First-year Writing Award

Photo of Kelly Robertson and Dr. Barb L'Eplattenier
Kelly Robertson
Writing Obsessively

Persuasive Writing Award

Photo of Amy Cole and Dr. Barb L'EplattenierAmy Cole
An Argument Against the Sale of Invasive Beauty



Posted in: Main

Comments are closed.