Faculty

The list below provides contact information for the Department of Rhetoric and Writing’s full-time faculty members. In addition to full-time faculty, some of our courses are also taught by lecturers and graduate student teachers.

The Department of Rhetoric and Writing
2801 South University SH 603, Little Rock, AR, 72204
Chair: Joyce Locke Carter, PhD
Email: jlcarter@ualr.edu
Main Office:  (501) 916-6453
Email:  write@ualr.edu

Full-Time Faculty Members

Melvin BeaversMelvin Beavers, EdD
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Diversity, Equity,  and Inclusion

Office: SH 603-O
(501) 916-6451 (RHET)
(501) 916-5697 (DEI)

mebeavers@ualr.edu

Susan BowlingSusan Bowling, MEd
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Academic Instruction Coordinator

Office: SH 603 G
(501) 916-6452

sebowling@ualr.edu

Joyce CarterJoyce Carter, PhD
University of Texas
Department Chair

Office: SH 603-P
(501) 916-6453

jlcarter@ualr.edu

Earnest CoxEarnest Cox, PhD
Texas Christian University
Director, University Writing Center

Office: LIB 106 D
(501) 916-6454

elcox@ualr.edu

Greg GrahamGreg Graham, MA
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Director, Little Rock Writing Project

Office: SH 603-C
(501) 916-6455

gxgraham@ualr.edu

Heidi Harris
Heidi Harris, PhD
Ball State University
Graduate Coordinator

Office: SH 603-A
(501) 916-6463

haharris@ualr.edu

Karen Kuralt, Graduate Coordinator
Karen Kuralt, PhD
Purdue University
Associate Dean, Graduate School

Office: LIB 501D
(501) 916-6214

kmkuralt@ualr.edu

Barbara LEplattenierBarbara L’Eplattenier, PhD
Purdue University

Office: SH 603-E
(501) 916-6457

bleplatt@ualr.edu

Londie MartinLondie T. Martin, PhD
University of Arizona

Office:  SH 603-H
(501) 916-6458

ltmartin@ualr.edu

Joanne Liebman Matson, PhD, JD
University of Minnesota

Office: SH 603-D
(501) 916-6459

jlmatson@ualr.edu

Cindy NahrwoldCynthia Nahrwold, PhD
New Mexico State University

Office: SH 603-B
(501) 916-6460
canahrwold@ualr.edu

Brian RayBrian Ray, PhD
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Office: SH 603-J
(501) 916-6461

bcray@ualr.edu

Tammy ScaifeTammy Scaife, MA
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Director of Composition

Office: SH 603-N
(501) 916-6462

tvscaife@ualr.edu

Dr. Joe WilliamsJoseph J. Williams, PhD
Syracuse University

Office: SH 603-K
(501) 916-6464

jjwilliams@ualr.edu

Return to top…