Who We Are

Our Department

Applied communication looks at how communication theory and principles can be used to better the communication that takes place in a variety of contexts. We focus primarily on interpersonal and organizational contexts. Students learn to “apply” theory to everyday situations in order to improve the communication within those situations.

Our curriculum is interactive in nature, with an emphasis on case studies and ethical communication across the curriculum, in order to help students understand how to use positive communication to make a difference in their personal and professional lives.

Meet Our Faculty

Dr. April Chatham-CarpenterDr. April Chatham-Carpenter, Department Chair
Professor; Vitae
M.A., Ph.D. University of Oklahoma
axchathamca@ualr.edu
501-916-6026
 

 

 

 

Dr. Gerald W. Driskill

Dr. Gerald W. Driskill, Graduate Coordinator
Professor; Vitae
M.A. Abilene Christian University; Ph.D. University of Kansas
gwdriskill@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6020

 

 

 

Katie HalfordKatie Halford
Instructor: Vitae
M.A., University of Arkansas at Little Rock
akhalford@ualr.edu

Phone: 501-916-6025

 

 

 

Dr. Kristen McIntyre

Dr. Kristen McIntyre
Professor: Vitae
M.A. Iowa State University; Ph.D. North Dakota State University, Fargo
kagullicksm@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6024

 

 

 

Dr. Julien C. Mirivel

Dr. Julien C. Mirivel
Professor: Vitae
M.A., Ph.D. University of Colorado at Boulder
jcmirivel@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6030

 

 

 

Dr. Bailey M. OliverDr. Bailey M. Oliver
Assistant Professor: Vitae
M.A. University of Alabama; Ph.D. Arizona State University
bmoliver1@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6027

 

 

 

Dr. Avinash Thombre

Dr. Avinash Thombre
Professor; Vitae
M.A. Bangalore University Health Communication; Ph.D. University of New Mexico
axthombre@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6023

 

 

 

Dr. Carol Thompson

Dr. Carol Thompson
Professor: Vitae
M.A., Ph.D. Southern Illinois University
clthompson@ualr.edu
Phone: 501-916-6021