Jeffrey Condran, MFA

Jeffrey Condran

Associate Professor

Office: Stabler Hall 501-T
Phone: 501-916-3161


Educational Background

MFA, Creative Writing—Fiction, University of Pittsburgh, 1998
B.A., English Writing, University of Pittsburgh, 1995

Areas of Focus

Professor Condran teaches courses in our Creative Writing program (fiction). He also teaches contemporary literature, European literature, and editing & independent press administration. He is the author of two works of fiction: a short story collection, A Fingerprint Repeated (Press 53), and a novel, Prague Summer (Counterpoint). He is the faculty co-advisor of UA Little Rock’s literary magazine, Equinox, and co-founder/publisher of the independent literary Press, Braddock Avenue Books.

Selected Publications


Prague Summer: a novel. Counterpoint. August, 2014

A Fingerprint Repeated: Stories. Press 53. October, 2013


“1983.” Big Muddy. Vol. 17.1 (2017): (Print)

“Death of the Writer.” Epoch. Vol. 66.2 (2017): 186-199 (Print)

“Salt of the Earth.” Fourth River. Number 14 (2017): 189-207 (Print)

“Black Dog.” Jabberwock Review Vol. 36.1 (2015).

“Brigadoon.” Epoch. Vol. 62, Number 3 (2014).

“Building Cities in the Desert.” Kenyon Review. Vol. 35, Number 4 (2013).

“Beggar.” Pear Noir! Issue 8 (2012) — nominated for the Pushcart Prize.

“Praha.” The Missouri Review Vol. 32, Issue 2 (2009). Winner of the 2010 William Peden Prize


“An Interview with Stewart O’Nan.” The Writer’s Chronicle

Selected Awards

The Sewanee Writers’ Conference Walter E. Dakin Fellowship in Fiction (2017)

Silver Medal for Literary Fiction, Independent Publisher Book Awards for Prague Summer (2015)

Finalist, Carol R. Brown Award for an Emerging Writer — $15,000 (2013)

Pushcart Prize Nomination for “Beggar” (2012) – Nominated by Pear Noir!

The Sewanee Writers’ Conference Georges and Anne Borchardt Scholarship in Fiction (2012)

The Cincinnati Review’s Robert and Adele Schiff Prize Honorable Mention (2011) – Selected by Michael Griffith.

James Jones First Novel Fellowship Top Ten Finalist (2011) – Selected by Bonnie Culver, Laurie Moyer, and Nina Solomon from 667 manuscripts.

The Missouri Review’s William Peden Prize – $1000 (2010) – Selected by Steve Yarbrough