Faculty

As an interdisciplinary program, Gender Studies faculty have their primary academic homes in departments across the university.  The program is administered by the Department of Sociology and Anthropology with the assistance of a coordinator from among the list of gender studies faculty.

Dr. Laura Barrio-Vilar, Associate Professor of EnglishLaura Barrio-Vilar,  Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Kentucky

Fields: Race, Gender, Class, Citizenship, African Diaspora, Postcolonial Studies, Contemporary LGBTQ Literature, and Cultural Studies, and Intersectional Approaches to Social Justice.

Lxbarrio@ualr.edu

 

David Baylis, Assistant Professor of Geograph

Ph.D., Michigan State University

Fields: Queer Theory, Critical Spatial Thinking, and Analysis, Environmental Studies, and Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

dbaylis@ualr.edu

 

Juliana Flinn, Distinguished Professor of Anthropology

Ph.D., Stanford University

Fields: Micronesia, Cultural Identity, Kinship, Gender, Migration, and Dance

jbflinn@ualr.edu

 

Zac Hagins , Assistant Professor of French

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University 

Fields: Immigration, Ethnicity, Gender, and the Construction of National Identity

zrhagins@ualr.edu

 

Londie Martin, Assistant Professor of Digital Rhetorics

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Fields: Gender, Sexuality, and Queer Studies, Multimodal Composition, Digital Literacies, and Game Studies, and Critical Youth Studies

ltmartin@ualr.edu

 

Nathan E. Marvin, Assistant Professor of History

Ph.D., John Hopkins University

Fields: French Empire, Race, Slavery, Religion, Gender

nemarvin@ualr.edu

 

Kris McAbee, Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara

Fields: Early Modern Literature, Digital Humanities, and Intersectional Feminist Cultural Studies

kxmcabee@ualr.edu

 

Dr. McAuliffeJana McAuliffe, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Ph.D., DePaul University

Fields: Philosophies of Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality, Applied Ethics, Critical Theory, Contemporary Continental, and History of Philosophy

jxmcauliffe@ualr.edu

Margaret E. Scranton, Professor of Political Science

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Fields: American Presidency, US First Ladies, Public Policy, US Foreign Policy, and Archival Research

mescranton@ualr.edu

 

Molly Smith, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice

Ph.D., Sam Houston University

Fields: Rape Myths, Sexual Assault on Campus, Prostitution/Sex Trafficking, Gender Differences in Offending/Re-entry Success

mesmith8@ualr.edu 

 

Eric Wiebelhaus-Brahm, Associate Professor in the School of Public Affairs

Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder

Fields: Transitional Justice, Peacebuilding, Human Rights, Democratization

ejwiebelhaus@ualr.edu

 

Dr. Katrina Yeaw, Assistant Professor of HistoryKatrina Yeaw, Assistant Professor of History

Ph.D., Georgetown University

Fields: the Middle East and North Africa, Gender, Race, Colonialism, Violence, Memory, Law, Resistance and Collaboration, and Colonial/Post-Colonial 

keyeaw@ualr.edu