ASCL to Meet at Bowen in October

The UALR William H. Bowen School of Law will host the 2013 American Society of Comparative Law annual meeting.

The event will be held Oct. 10-12, 2013, in Little Rock.

The American Society of Comparative Law (ASCL) is the leading organization in the United States promoting the comparative study of law. Founded in 1951, the Society publishes The American Journal of Comparative Law, the outstanding American publication of scholarship on comparative law.

Call for papers

The Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law invites submissions to fill a panel on “New Voices in Comparative Law,” to be held at the Society’s 2013 Annual Meeting. The panel will highlight the scholarship of new and younger comparativists.

Submissions will be accepted on any subject of public or private comparative law from scholars who have been engaged as law teachers for 10 years or fewer as of July 1.

The Scholarship Advisory Group of the Younger Comparativists Committee will review submissions with the authors’ identities concealed. A maximum of two submissions will be chosen for the panel. Submissions will not be accepted from scholars whose work has been featured in a prior younger scholars’ panel at the Society’s Annual Meeting.

The scholars whose entries are selected for the panel will be required to submit a final paper no longer than 30,000 words by Aug. 22.

To submit an entry, scholars should email an abstract of no more than 1,000 words (including footnotes) no later than noon EST on June 24, to Judy Yi. Abstracts should reflect original research that will not yet have been published by the time of the Society’s Annual Meeting. The abstract should be accompanied by a separate cover sheet indicating the author’s name, title of the paper, institutional affiliation, and contact information. The abstract itself must not contain any references that identify the author or the author’s institutional affiliation.

The Younger Comparativists Committee is pleased to announce that LexisNexis will award a Book Prize to the author of the paper judged most meritorious by the Scholarship Advisory Group.

Please direct all inquiries to Richard Albert, chair of the Younger Comparativists Committee, by email at 617.552.3930.

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.